GHG Emissions

Canada’s oil and natural gas industry produces 0.3 per cent of overall global GHG emissions.

Canada’s natural gas industry works to reduce air emissions associated with exploration and production. Air management in Canada is a shared responsibility of the provincial and federal governments. The focus for air management is on air emissions, including greenhouse gases, pollutants and odours.

natural gas wellhead alberta  

Other emissions

While natural gas is the cleanest-burning fossil fuel, our industry does emit GHGs through fuel combustion and other operational processes such as flaring. Natural gas production also emits particulate matter such as nitrogen oxide (NOx), a by-product of fuel combustion emitted during activities such as firing of engines for gas compression and power generation, and flaring. Sulphur dioxide (SO2) is also emitted from operations that produce and process raw natural gas containing hydrogen sulphide.

Recognizing that the upstream oil and natural gas industry is the largest source of methane emissions in Alberta, under the Alberta Climate Leadership plan, the government announced a methane emission reduction target of 45 per cent by 2025. Implementation of new methane standards will be led by the Alberta Energy Regulator, in collaboration with Alberta Energy and the Alberta Climate Change Office.  

Monitoring and reporting

Canada’s natural gas industry reports GHG emissions each year as required. Reporting is done via Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Single Window system – a central web tool shared with provincial partners that streamlines national and provincial reporting.  

Electricity generated from natural gas helps reduce GHG emissions

Natural gas can play an important role in reducing Canada’s GHG emissions.  For example, the electricity sector’s emissions dropped from 118 megatonnes in 2000 to 70 megatonnes in 2014 as plants switched from coal to natural gas.  Electricity powered by natural gas is forecasted to increase from 15 per cent in 2014 to 22 per cent in 2040 and coal will be reduced from seven per cent to 3 per cent.  For every 1,000 MW of coal- fired power generation converted to natural power generation,  annual CO2 equivalent emissions are reduced by 4.4 million tonnes or just over one half of one per cent of Canada's total. (Source: CAPP).

SHARE

Émissions de GES

L’industrie pétrolière et gazière canadienne produit 0,3 % des émissions mondiales de GES.

Le Canada, qui compte moins de 1 % de la population mondiale, ne produit que 2 % des émissions de GES de la planète. L’industrie pétrolière et gazière canadienne produit 0,3 % des émissions mondiales de GES.  


Autres émissions

Même si le gaz naturel est le combustible fossile le plus propre, notre industrie émet des GES lors de la combustion de combustibles et dans le cadre d’autres procédés opérationnels comme le torchage. La production de gaz naturel émet par ailleurs des particules comme les oxydes d’azote (NOx), sous-produit de cette combustion émis lors d’activités comme le démarrage de moteurs pour la compression du gaz et la production d’électricité, et le torchage. Du dioxyde de soufre (SO2) est également émis lors de la production et du traitement du gaz naturel brut contenant du sulfure d’hydrogène.

Conscient que l’industrie du pétrole et du gaz naturel d’amont est la principale source d’émissions de méthane en Alberta, le gouvernement a annoncé, dans le cadre de l’Alberta Climate Leadership Plan, un objectif de réduction de 45 % d’ici 2025 des émissions de méthane. On mettra en application de nouvelles normes relatives au méthane sous l’égide de l’Alberta Energy Regulator (organisme de réglementation énergétique de l’Alberta), en collaboration avec le ministère provincial de l’Énergie et l’Alberta Climate Change Office.  

Surveillance et déclaration

L’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel est tenue de déclarer chaque année ses émissions de GES. Elle utilise pour cela le système à guichet unique d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – outil Web centralisé partagé avec les partenaires provinciaux, qui simplifie les déclarations nationales et provinciales.  

La production d’électricité à l’aide de gaz naturel permet de réduire les émissions de GES

Le gaz naturel peut jouer un rôle important dans la réduction des émissions de GES du Canada. Par exemple, les émissions du secteur de l’électricité sont passées de 118 mégatonnes en 2000 à 70 mégatonnes en 2014, car les centrales ont remplacé le charbon par le gaz naturel. On prévoit que cette forme de production d’électricité va passer de 15 % en 2014 à 22 % en 2040, et que l’utilisation du charbon passera de 7 % à 3 %. Pour chaque tranche de 1 000 MW d’électricité convertis de la production par centrale au charbon à la production au gaz naturel, les émissions d’équivalent CO2 diminuent de 4,4 millions de tonnes, soit juste un peu plus d’un demi pour cent des émissions totales du Canada. (Source : ACPP).

PARTAGER