Wildlife

Regulation is a key part of responsible natural gas development.

Sage grouse

Producers improve upon a variety of approaches to protect wildlife

Energy regulators in British Columbia (Oil and Gas Commission – OGC) and Alberta (Energy Regulator – AER) ensure the safe, efficient, orderly, and environmentally responsible development of natural gas. This includes stewardship in maintaining the health and well-being of ecosystems where natural gas exploration and development is taking place.  

For example, natural gas operators in British Columbia are guided by the OGC’s Environmental Protection and Management Guideline which provides guidance and clarity on the regulatory requirements for environment and wildlife, and habitat protection.

The OGC also outlines preventative measures to protect birds and wildlife from coming into contact with fluids stored in open ponds or tanks which is guided by the provincial Wildlife Act and federal Migratory Bird Convention Act.  

Some species of wildlife, such as the Boreal caribou, are protected by the Government of Canada’s Species at Risk Act (SARA).  

SHARE

Règlements visant la faune

xxxxxxxxxxx

Les producteurs améliorent diverses approches en vue de protéger la faune.

Les responsables de la réglementation énergétique en Colombie-Britannique (Oil and Gas Commission – OGC) et en Alberta (Alberta Energy Regulator – AER) veillent à ce que l’exploitation du gaz naturel soit entreprise de façon sûre, efficace et structurée, et dans le respect de l’environnement. Cela inclut des activités de gérance visant à préserver la santé et le bien-être des écosystèmes où l’on procède à la recherche et à l’exploitation du gaz naturel.  

Par exemple, les exploitants de gaz naturel de la Colombie-Britannique s’appuient sur l’Environmental Protection and Management Guideline de l’OGC, qui contient des orientations et des éclaircissements à propos des exigences réglementaires visant l’environnement et la faune, ainsi que la protection de l’habitat.

L’OGC établit également des mesures préventives visant à éviter que des oiseaux et d’autres espèces fauniques entrent en contact avec les fluides stockés dans des bassins ouverts ou des réservoirs, en vertu de la Wildlife Act provinciale et de la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs fédérale.  

Certaines espèces fauniques, comme le caribou des bois, sont protégées en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) canadienne.  

PARTAGER