Managing Water

Protecting water is a priority for industry.

Wetlands Dawson Creek Reclaimed Water Project Natural Gas

Water and drilling fluids transportation and handling

Protecting water during sourcing, transportation, handling, storage and disposal of fluids is a priority for industry. Fluids include: fracturing fluids, produced water, flowback water and fracturing fluid wastes. Hydraulic fracturing fluid is comprised primarily of water and sand (~98.5%) and a small amount of additives (~1.5%).

Moving water during resource development is done carefully so that surface water and groundwater sources are protected.

Industry conforms to all regulations, including federal Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act, when transporting fracturing fluids, produced water and flowback.

Water storage

Generally, there are three types of storage used for water during hydraulic fracturing operations:

  • Unlined pits - the ground is excavated to create a dugout to store fresh water.
  • Lined pits (geo-synthetic) - the ground is excavated to create a dugout and lined with impermeable geosynthetic materials to store flowback or drilling fluids while protecting the environment. In order to protect waterfowl and other wildlife from coming into contact with this water, wire fencing is often used to cover the pit and brightly coloured flagging on the fence perimeter acts as a deterrent.
  • C-ring tanks - Large on site tanks used to store flowback, produced, or fresh water separately.

When hydraulic fracturing operations are complete, the fluids that return to the surface are called flowback. The flowback contains the water originally used hydraulic fracturing operations, along with the additives, and any naturally occurring fluids found in the underground rock formation. The water found in the deep underground rock formations is called produced water. Produced water is not suitable for domestic use.

Operators reuse the produced and flowback water whenever practicable. This requires the flowback and produced water to be stored until it’s used again. To protect freshwater from coming into contact with produced water and flowback, freshwater is generally stored in an unlined pit or in C-ring tanks. The produced and flowback water is stored separately in either lined pits or C-ring tanks.

Disposal of wastewater and drilling fluids

When a well is completed and ready for production, the remaining produced water, flowback and fracturing or drilling fluids must be disposed in a safe and environmentally responsible way. Following regulations and industry best practices prevents wastewater and drilling fluids from coming into contact with groundwater, surface water or the land.

In most cases, unusable and/or excess flowback is disposed of in a licensed disposal well through a process called deep-well injection. The practice of deep-well injection is highly regulated in Alberta and British Columbia. Some operators may also dispose of flowback and produced water at industrial disposal facilities in compliance with applicable provincial regulations.

CAPP'S GUIDING PRINCIPLES AND OPERATING PRACTICES FOR HYDRAULIC FRACTURING

In addition to following regulations for hydraulic fracturing operations, water use and water protection, Canada’s natural gas industry is guided by CAPP’s Guiding Principles for Hydraulic Fracturing and Operating Practices.

SHARE

Gestion de l’eau

L’industrie accorde la priorité à la protection de l’eau.

Transport et manutention de l’eau et des fluides de forage

L’industrie accorde la priorité à la protection de l’eau pendant le prélèvement, le transport, la manutention, le stockage et l’élimination des fluides. Les fluides en question sont les suivants : fluides de fracturation, eau extraite, eau de reflux et déchets des fluides de fracturation. Le fluide de fracturation hydraulique est principalement composé d’eau et de sable (près de 98,5 %) et d’une petite quantité d’additifs (près de 1,5 %). (ACPP)

On déplace l’eau avec soin lors de l’exploitation des ressources, afin de protéger les sources d’eau de surface et d’eau souterraine.

Les membres de l’industrie se conforment à l’ensemble de la réglementation, dont la Loi sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses fédérale, quand ils transportent des fluides de fracturation, de l’eau extraite et de l’eau de reflux.  

Stockage de l’eau

En général, il y a trois façons de stocker l’eau utilisée durant les opérations de fracturation hydraulique :
  • Fosses non renforcées – On creuse le sol afin de créer une mare-réservoir où on stockera l’eau douce.
  • Fosses renforcées (géosynthétiques) – On creuse le sol afin de créer une mare-réservoir qu’on tapisse de matériaux géosynthétiques imperméables afin de stocker l’eau de reflux ou les fluides de forage tout en protégeant l’environnement. Pour éviter que les oiseaux aquatiques et les autres espèces sauvages entrent en contact avec cette eau, on utilise souvent un treillage métallique qui recouvre la fosse et des drapeaux de couleur vive sur le périmètre de la clôture, afin de tenir les animaux à l’écart.  
  • Réservoirs circulaires – Grands réservoirs situés sur place qu’on utilise pour stocker séparément l’eau de reflux, l’eau extraite ou l’eau douce.  

Quand les opérations de fracturation hydraulique sont terminées, les fluides qui remontent à la surface constituent le reflux. Le reflux contient l’eau initialement utilisée pour les opérations de fracturation hydraulique, ainsi que les additifs, et tout liquide présent naturellement dans la formation rocheuse souterraine. L’eau qui se trouve en profondeur dans la formation rocheuse souterraine est l’eau extraite. Cette eau ne convient pas à un usage domestique.
Les exploitants réutilisent l’eau extraite et l’eau de reflux chaque fois qu’ils le peuvent. Pour ce faire, ils doivent stocker cette eau en attendant de la réutiliser. Pour éviter que de l’eau douce entre en contact avec l’eau extraite et l’eau de reflux, on la stocke généralement dans une fosse non renforcée ou dans des réservoirs circulaires. L’eau extraite et l’eau de reflux sont stockées séparément, soit dans des fosses renforcées, soit dans des réservoirs circulaires.

Élimination des eaux usées et des fluides de forage 

Une fois qu’un puits est terminé et prêt à produire, l’eau extraite, l’eau de reflux et les fluides de fracturation ou de forage restants doivent être éliminés de façon sécuritaire et écologiquement responsable. En respectant la réglementation et les pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie, on évite tout contact entre les eaux usées/fluides de forage et les eaux souterraines ou de surface ou les sols. 

Dans la plupart des cas, l’eau de reflux inutilisable ou excédentaire est éliminée dans un puits autorisé prévu à cet effet, à l’aide du procédé d’injection en puits profond. Cette pratique fait l’objet d’une réglementation stricte en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. Certains exploitants peuvent en outre éliminer l’eau de reflux ou l’eau extraite dans des installations industrielles conformes aux règlements provinciaux applicables.

PRINCIPES DIRECTEURS ET PRATIQUES D’EXPLOITATION DE L’ACPP POUR LA FRACTURATION HYDRAULIQUE

L’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel respecte la réglementation applicable aux opérations de fracturation hydraulique, ainsi qu’à l’utilisation et à la protection de l’eau, mais elle s’appuie également sur les principes directeurs et les pratiques opérationnelles de l’ACPP pour la fracturation hydraulique.