Aboriginal Relations

Canada’s natural gas producers seek ways to work with Aboriginal communities.

Body Explore Topics Aboriginal Relations Credit Imperial Oil RCE 2014

Photo Courtesy of Imperial Oil

As Canada’s natural gas industry enters new areas for development, many of these areas are located on or near traditional lands and Aboriginal communities.

Natural gas producers work with Aboriginal communities to develop long-term relationships that help achieve mutual success. These efforts are guided by the following principles:

1. Respectful Relationships: 

We recognize and respect the existing Aboriginal and treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada and seek respectful and mutually beneficial relationships with Aboriginal communities.

2. Respecting Unique Cultures and Traditions: 

We work collaboratively with Aboriginal communities to respect their unique cultures and traditional knowledge.

3. Respect for the Environment: 

Throughout the full life cycle of our projects we respect the environment and acknowledge the unique connection Aboriginal peoples have to the land and the environment.

4. Sustainable Benefits: 

We provide opportunities and benefits for Aboriginal communities in a sustainable manner that supports our mutual prosperity. (Source: CAPP)

Consultation plays an important role in resource development and depending on the scope of work, this consultation may occur throughout the life of the project from initial project planning through to final reclamation.  

Improved communication can help both companies and communities by identifying communities’ interests, concerns and priorities and improving the environmental and social performance of a development project. It can also result in mutually beneficial business opportunities for local service providers, employment opportunities, funding for community initiatives, and industry agreements to avoid culturally or ecologically significant areas.

Aboriginal opportunities

Strong relationships with Aboriginal communities have created mutually beneficial employment and business opportunities.  Supporting Aboriginal businesses creates shared benefits and ensures that Canada’s natural gas industry has the goods and services needed to support projects and ongoing operations.  Many of Canada’s natural gas producers work with First Nations on a variety of environmental initiatives as well as delivering education programs that focus on leadership training, skills development and post-secondary education.  

Success story – LNG partners with B.C.’s First Nations

The proposed Kitimat LNG Project is a joint venture between Chevron Canada and Woodside Energy International (Woodside). It is being developed in partnership with First Nations to ensure they are active participants in the project and will benefit from the development of B.C.’s significant natural gas resources. 

Kitimat LNG has established benefits agreements with the Haisla Nation for the Kitimat LNG Plant site at Bish Cove near Kitimat B.C., and with all 16 First Nation bands along the proposed natural gas Pacific Trail Pipeline route through the First Nations Limited Partnership. These agreements provide First Nations with skills training, jobs, and contracts for the provision of supplies and services, environmental protection measures, as well as financial benefits throughout the lifetime of the Kitimat LNG Project.

SHARE

Relations avec les Autochtones

La creation de liens a long terme avec le peuple Autochtone et les communautes des Premieres Nations est une priorite pour l'industrie canadienne du gaz naturel.

Source: Imperial Oil 

Les producteurs canadiens de gaz naturel travaillent avec les collectivités autochtones pour établir des relations à long terme qui garantiront leur succès mutuel. Ces efforts sont guidés par les principes suivants :

1. Relations fondées sur le respect 

Nous reconnaissons et respectons les droits ancestraux et issus de traités des peuples autochtones du Canada, et cherchons à établir avec les collectivités autochtones des relations mutuellement avantageuses fondées sur le respect.

2. Respect du caractère unique des cultures et des traditions 

Nous collaborons avec les collectivités autochtones afin de respecter le caractère unique de leur culture et de leurs connaissances traditionnelles.

3. Respect de l’environnement 

Tout au long du cycle de vie de nos projets, nous respectons l’environnement et reconnaissons le lien unique que les Autochtones entretiennent avec la terre et l’environnement.

4. Avantages durables 

Nous offrons des possibilités et des avantages durables aux collectivités autochtones de façon à favoriser notre prospérité mutuelle. 
(Source : ACPP)

La consultation joue un rôle important dans l’exploitation des ressources et, selon la portée des travaux entrepris, elle peut avoir lieu tout au long du projet, de la planification initiale à la remise en état finale.  

Une communication améliorée peut aider à la fois les entreprises et les collectivités, en leur permettant de définir les intérêts, les préoccupations et les priorités des collectivités, et en améliorant la performance environnementale et sociale des projets d’exploitation. Elle peut également créer des possibilités mutuellement avantageuses pour les fournisseurs de services locaux, générer des emplois et des fonds pour les initiatives communautaires, et donner lieu à des ententes avec l’industrie visant à éviter les régions qui revêtent une importance sur le plan culturel ou écologique.

Des possibilités pour les Autochtones

L’établissement de liens étroits avec les collectivités autochtones a créé des possibilités mutuellement avantageuses sur le plan de l’emploi et des affaires. En appuyant les entreprises autochtones, on crée des avantages partagés, et on garantit que l’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel disposera des produits et services dont elle a besoin à l’appui de ses projets et de ses activités en cours. Bon nombre des producteurs canadiens de gaz naturel travaillent avec les Premières nations dans le cadre de diverses initiatives environnementales, mais aussi pour offrir des programmes d’éducation axés sur la formation de dirigeants, le perfectionnement des compétences et l’enseignement postsecondaire.  

Histoire de réussite – LNG Canada s’associe aux Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique

Le projet de GNL de Kitimat est le fruit d’une coentreprise entre Chevron Canada et Woodside Energy International (Woodside). Il est mis en œuvre en collaboration avec les Premières nations, afin de garantir qu’elles participeront activement au projet et profiteront de l’exploitation des importantes ressources en gaz naturel de la Colombie-Britannique. 

Le groupe LNG a conclu une entente sur les retombées avec la Première nation Haisla à propos de l’usine de GNL située à Bish Cove, près de Kitimat (C.-B.), et avec l’ensemble des 16 bandes composant la Première nation le long du trajet proposé pour le Pacific Trail Pipeline, grâce au First Nations Limited Partnership. Ces ententes offrent aux membres de la Première nation une formation spécialisée, des emplois et des contrats en vue de la fourniture de produits et de services, ainsi que des mesures de protection de l’environnement, mais aussi des avantages financiers tout au long du cycle du projet de GNL de Kitimat.