Affordability

For energy users, any reduction in energy costs is a significant benefit.

Thermostat

Keeping Canadians warm at an affordable price

In Canada, natural gas is the single-largest form of energy used in Canadian homes.  More than six million homeowners use natural gas to heat their homes and their water.  (Source: CIEEDAC & Natural Resources Canada, CGA) 

For consumers, any reduction in energy costs while enjoying the same or improved level of service is a significant benefit.  It means money saved for families in their homes (heating, cooking food, and fueling vehicles) and for businesses to become more competitive and expand.  In Canadian homes, natural gas helps deliver significant savings per household when it is chosen over other energy options (electricity, propane and heating oil) for space and water heating.  In fact, homeowners who energize their homes with natural gas can save over $2,000 per year on their energy bills. (Source:  CGA 2016) 

Natural gas provided for over 32 per cent of energy demand in Canada in 2015, second only to motor vehicle fuels (38 per cent) and significantly more than electricity (21 per cent). Considering that natural gas absorbs just nine per cent of the total energy spending budget of Canadians, its value to Canadians and the economy is significant. (Source: Statistics Canada).

Natural gas is a vital source of energy for Canada and is an important, affordable part of Canada’s energy mix.


SHARE

Abordabilité

Pour les consommateurs d’énergie, toute réduction des coûts énergétiques constitue un avantage important.

Garder les Canadiens au chaud à moindre coût

Au Canada, le gaz naturel est la première forme d’énergie à usage résidentiel. Plus de six millions de propriétaires utilisent le gaz naturel pour chauffer leur maison et leur eau. (Source : CIEEDAC et Ressources naturelles Canada, ACG) 

Pour les consommateurs, toute réduction des coûts énergétiques assortie de services de qualité égale ou améliorée constitue un avantage important. Cela signifie que les familles ont plus d’argent (grâce aux économies réalisées sur les coûts de chauffage, de cuisson des aliments et de carburant pour les véhicules) et que les entreprises en ont plus pour devenir plus concurrentielles et prendre de l’expansion. Dans les maisons canadiennes, le gaz naturel permet à chaque ménage de faire des économies substantielles par rapport à d’autres options énergétiques (électricité, propane et mazout) pour chauffer les pièces et l’eau. En fait, les propriétaires qui choisissent le gaz naturel peuvent économiser plus de 2 000 $ par an sur leur facture énergétique. (Source : ACG, 2016) 

En 2015, le gaz naturel a satisfait à plus de 32 % de la demande énergétique au Canada, juste derrière le carburant des véhicules (38 %) et nettement plus que l’électricité (21 %). Étant donné que le gaz naturel absorbe seulement 9 % des dépenses énergétiques totales des Canadiens, sa valeur pour eux et pour l’économie est importante. (Source : Statistique Canada)

Le gaz naturel est une source d’énergie vitale pour le Canada et un élément à la fois important et abordable du bouquet énergétique canadien.

PARTAGER