Drilling Fluids

Hydraulic fracturing fluids are comprised primarily of water and sand and a small amount of additives

Drilling Fluid (MLT Trican)

Generally, when an oil and natural gas well is drilled, drilling mud or fluids are used to keep the drill bit cool and clean during the drilling and help move rock excavated by the drill up to the surface. Depending of the well and rock formation, some wells require different types of drilling mud.

Hydraulic fracturing fluids

Hydraulic fracturing fluids are comprised primarily of water and sand (~98.5%) and a small amount of additives (~1.5%). Fracturing fluids are injected under high pressure into the deep underground rock formation to crack the rock. The sand props open the rock fractures to provide a pathway for the oil or natural gas to flow more easily to the surface. The make-up of fracturing fluid varies from one rock formation to another.

Managing the use of hydraulic fracturing fluids

All additives used must comply with provincial and federal regulations where applicable. Industry also follows best practices to assess and manage the use of hydraulic fracturing additives including having risk mitigation plans in place in the unlikely event of a spill.

Letting the public know about fracturing fluids used in natural gas development

In Alberta and British Columbia, disclosure of the additives used for hydraulic fracturing operations must be publicly disclosed. For each well, operators must describe the function of additives used and the trade name of the additive as well as the name of the additive ingredients as listed on the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) and the Chemical Abstract Service registry number (CAS number). This information is stored in a public database that can be found at FracFocus.

SHARE

Fluides de forage

Les fluides de fracturation hydraulique sont principalement composés d’eau et de sable, et d’une petite quantité d’additifs.


En général, quand on fore un puits de pétrole ou de gaz naturel, on utilise des boues de forage pour refroidir le trépan et faciliter le déplacement des roches extraites jusqu’à la surface. Selon le puits et la formation rocheuse, on utilise différents types de boues de forage.

Fluides de fracturation hydraulique

Les fluides de fracturation hydraulique sont principalement composés d’eau et de sable (près de 98,5 %) et d’une petite quantité d’additifs (environ 1,5 %). On injecte ces fluides à haute pression dans les couches profondes de la formation rocheuse pour fissurer la roche. Le sable élargit les fractures dans la roche afin d’ouvrir la voie au pétrole ou au gaz naturel, qui peut alors remonter vers la surface. La composition du fluide varie d’une formation rocheuse à l’autre.  

Gérer l’utilisation de l’eau dans les fluides de fracturation hydraulique

Tous les additifs utilisés doivent être conformes à la réglementation provinciale et fédérale applicable. Les membres de l’industrie adoptent eux aussi des pratiques exemplaires afin d’évaluer et de gérer l’utilisation d’additifs pour la fracturation hydraulique; ils mettent notamment en œuvre des plans d’atténuation des risques pour prévenir la faible probabilité d’un déversement accidentel.

Informer le public à propos des fluides de fracturation utilisés pour l’exploitation du gaz naturel

En Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique, il est obligatoire de divulguer publiquement les additifs utilisés pour les activités de fracturation hydraulique. Pour chaque puits, l’exploitant doit décrire le rôle des additifs utilisés et leur nom commercial, ainsi que le nom de leurs ingrédients tel qu’il figure sur la fiche signalétique (FS) et le numéro de registre CAS (Chemical Abstract Service). Cette information est conservée dans une base de données publique qu’on peut consulter à l’adresse http://fracfocus.ca/chemical-use (en anglais).

PARTAGER