Induced Seismicity

Seismic activity is rarely felt on the surface and usually occurs near where the rock is being fractured, or 2,000 to 3,000 metres below ground.

Body Explore Topics Induced Seismicity Graphic Large Font

Seismic activity or earthquake activity, which is caused by human activity, is called induced seismicity. It is associated with several industrial processes, including geothermal energy extraction, mining, dam building, construction and hydraulic fracturing in natural gas development.

Earthquakes and hydraulic fracturing

The energy released by hydraulic fracturing (also known as fracking) causes rocks deep underground to crack, by nature, causes seismic activity. Seismic activity is rarely felt on the surface and usually occurs near where the rock is being fractured, or 2,000 to 3,000 metres below ground. 

Seismicity associated with hydraulic fracturing is usually recorded as microseismic events not felt on the surface because of their low magnitude. Of the seismic events felt on the surface, most range from 2.0 ML to 3.0 ML on the Richter scale. This is the equivalent of vibrations felt by a passing truck on the road. In rare cases, hydraulic fracturing has caused seismic events of 4.0ML to 4.8ML. Even at these levels, property damage or risk to public safety is unlikely. 

Regulations for induced seismicity

In parts of British Columbia and Alberta, natural gas companies are required to monitor for seismic activity associated with hydraulic fracturing on their operating sites. Companies must also develop, and file with the regulator, a response plan in the event their operations trigger a seismic event. Any seismic event over 2.0 ML must be reported to the regulator. In the rare case an event of magnitude 4.0 ML or greater occurs, hydraulic fracturing operations must immediately stop allowing for an investigation to be conducted by the regulator. Operations may only begin again once the regulator has given permission.

SHARE

Comprendre la sismicité induite

L’activité sismique est rarement ressentie à la surface et se produit généralement près du lieu de fracturation de la roche, ou à une profondeur comprise entre 2 000 et 3 000 mètres.

L’activité sismique ou les tremblements de terre imputables à l’activité humaine sont qualifiés de sismicité induite. Elle est associée à plusieurs processus industriels : extraction d’énergie géothermique, extraction minière, construction de barrages et fracturation hydraulique pour l’exploitation du gaz naturel.

Tremblements de terre et fracturation hydraulique

L’énergie libérée par la fracturation hydraulique cause une fissuration naturelle de la roche à une grande profondeur, entraînant une activité sismique. Celle-ci est rarement ressentie à la surface et se produit généralement près du lieu de fracturation de la roche, ou à une profondeur comprise entre 2 000 et 3 000 mètres. 

La sismicité associée à la fracturation hydraulique est généralement enregistrée sous forme d’événements microsismiques non ressentis à la surface en raison de leur faible magnitude. La plupart sont compris entre 2,0 ML et 3,0 ML sur l’échelle de Richter. Cela équivaut aux vibrations causées par le passage d’un camion sur la route. Dans de rares cas, la fracturation hydraulique a causé des événements d’une magnitude comprise entre 4,0 ML et 4,8 ML. Même à ce niveau-là, les dommages aux biens ou les risques pour la sécurité du public sont improbables. 

Réglementation de la sismicité induite

Dans certaines régions de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta, les entreprises exploitant le gaz naturel sont tenues de surveiller l’activité sismique associée à la fracturation hydraulique sur leurs sites d’exploitation. Elles doivent également élaborer (et présenter à l’organisme de réglementation) un plan d’intervention pour le cas où leurs activités déclencheraient un événement sismique. Tout événement sismique de plus de 2,0 ML doit être déclaré à l’organisme de réglementation. Dans les rares cas où un événement d’une magnitude supérieure ou égale à 4,0 ML survient, les opérations de fracturation hydraulique doivent cesser immédiatement, ce qui permet à l’organisme de réglementation de mener une enquête. Les opérations ne pourront reprendre qu’une fois que l’organisme de réglementation l’aura autorisé.

PARTAGER