Safety

Industry is advancing a safety culture based on a strong foundation of leadership and continuous improvement.

The health and safety of employees, contractors, the public and the communities where we operate is a priority for Canada’s natural gas industry. 

Hard working employees and contractors ensure natural gas is developed safely so it can be delivered to Canadians. Protecting workers and keeping them safe is imperative. Our industry recognizes that when it comes to safety, we don’t compete – we cooperate – with each other, as well as with other industries, governments, regulators, communities and the general public. 

Apache Natural Gas site workers

Safety excellence is achieved through a number of long-established practices:

  • International best practices – our industry draws upon the global expertise of some of the most recognized and respected minds in the world, focused on developing innovative technologies to address some of our industry’s critical challenges. Best practices are developed collaboratively and lessons learned are shared collectively. 
  • Regulations – Provincial and federal regulators are in place to ensure the safe and environmentally responsible development of Canada’s natural gas resources over their entire life cycle. Comprehensive regulations and requirements are designed to maximize safety during the exploration and production of natural gas. Regulators play a key role in assuring safety.
  • Leadership and Safety Culture - We are advancing a safety culture throughout our industry based on a strong foundation of leadership and continuous improvement. Many companies conduct Safety Stand Downs [link to ENFORM Safety Stand Down website] and company executives and senior managers regularly visit frontline workers at facilities to talk about safety issues. 
  • Operational integrity – at the operational and corporate level it is important that everyone understands how various systems, processes and equipment work together to assure the safety of our people. This is achieved through strong corporate policy and integrated management systems that are founded on principles of continuous improvement. 
  • Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment Programs – Identification of hazards, risk assessment and the development, implementation and monitoring of controls is a critical process that supports the safety of people and the environment. The natural gas industry is committed to the effective management of workplace hazards, and will eliminate hazards where practicable.
  • Emergency Response Programs and Plans – The natural gas industry develops detailed emergency response plans and these plans are reviewed and approved by our regulators. First responders, municipalities and effected stakeholders are consulted in the development of a plan. Once approved, a plan must be tested by way of drills and exercises, and will be updated as part of continual improvement processes. The natural gas industry is committed to ensuring emergency response plans are available to parties with a legitimate interest and need, and these can be accessed by contacting company representatives. Please note that portions of a plan may be unavailable where there is information that cannot be disclosed.
  • Training and Competency – Providing training to workers on a regular basis ensures everyone understands common risks and how to manage and reduce these risks and to keep workers safe. Canada’s natural gas industry works closely with ENFORM  [http://www.enform.ca/], an independent organization dedicated to safety that develops industry-recommended safety best practices and provides safety training. The competency of workers is a critical consideration to ensure worker safety during the exploration and production of natural gas.
  • Auditing and Compliance - Company management systems may be aligned to a range of national and international standards, as well as provincial and federal regulatory requirements. Companies and regulators audit regularly to verify compliance with safety programs, standards and regulatory requirements. Audit programs and certifications are useful tools for verifying that systems are working and for identifying opportunities for improvement.

Safety in offshore operations

The offshore energy industry in Atlantic Canada operates in a challenging environment. The remoteness of offshore workplaces, transportation to and from offshore facilities and harsh weather conditions are additional complexities that make working offshore a challenge.  

Our industry is guided by comprehensive health and safety plans, which are developed by operators and submitted to regulators before any activity is approved. The Canada-Nova Scotia and Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Boards audit company health and safety programs and regularly inspect offshore work locations. The Boards have the authority to shut down operations if there are safety concerns.

SHARE

Sécurité

Les membres de l’industrie préconisent une culture de la sécurité qui s’appuie sur les principes fondamentaux du leadership et de l’amélioration continue.

La santé et la sécurité des employés, des sous-traitants, du public et des collectivités où nous sommes implantés constituent une priorité pour l’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel. 

Les employés et les sous-traitants travaillent fort pour garantir que le gaz naturel sera exploité en toute sécurité en vue d’être acheminé aux Canadiens. Il est impératif de protéger les travailleurs et de garantir leur sécurité. Les membres de notre industrie reconnaissent qu’en matière de sécurité, nous ne sommes pas en concurrence les uns avec les autres – nous travaillons ensemble, de même qu’avec d’autres industries, les gouvernements, les organismes de réglementation, les collectivités et le grand public.

Nous atteignons l’excellence en matière de sécurité grâce à un certain nombre de pratiques établies depuis longtemps :

  • Pratiques exemplaires internationales – Notre industrie exploite l’expertise de certains des spécialistes les plus reconnus et les plus respectés au monde, qui cherchent à élaborer des technologies novatrices afin de relever les défis les plus épineux de l’industrie. Nous établissons des pratiques exemplaires dans un esprit de collaboration et nous les partageons avec tous. 
  • Réglementation – Les organismes provinciaux et fédéraux de réglementation veillent à l’exploitation à la fois sûre et écologiquement responsable des ressources canadiennes en gaz naturel pendant tout leur cycle de vie. Des exigences et des règlements exhaustifs visent à maximiser la sécurité lors de la recherche et de la production de gaz naturel. Ces organismes jouent un rôle clé pour garantir notre sécurité.
  • Leadership et culture de la sécurité – Nous préconisons une culture de la sécurité dans l’ensemble de notre industrie, qui s’appuie sur les principes fondamentaux du leadership et de l’amélioration continue. De nombreuses entreprises effectuent des vérifications de sécurité [lien vers le site Web Safety Stand Down d’ENFORM], et leurs dirigeants et cadres supérieurs rendent régulièrement visite aux travailleurs de première ligne de leurs usines pour parler de sécurité. 
  • Intégrité opérationnelle – À l’échelle opérationnelle et administrative, il est important que tout le monde comprenne comment les divers systèmes, processus et équipements fonctionnent, afin de garantir la sécurité du personnel. Pour ce faire, une politique d’entreprise efficace et des systèmes de gestion intégrés s’appuient sur les principes de l’amélioration continue. 
  • Programmes de détermination des dangers et d’évaluation des risques – La détermination des dangers, l’évaluation des risques et l’élaboration, la mise en œuvre et le suivi d’outils de contrôle constituent un processus essentiel qui garantit la sécurité des employés et de leur environnement. Les membres de l’industrie du gaz naturel s’engagent à gérer efficacement les dangers en milieu de travail et à les éliminer chaque fois que c’est possible.
  • Programmes et plans d’intervention d’urgence – Les membres de l’industrie du gaz naturel élaborent des plans d’intervention d’urgence détaillés, qui sont examinés et approuvés par nos organismes de réglementation. Nous consultons les premiers intervenants, les municipalités et les parties concernées lors de l’élaboration du plan. Une fois approuvé, ce plan doit être mis à l’essai grâce à divers exercices, puis il sera mis à jour dans le cadre de processus d’amélioration continue. Les membres de l’industrie du gaz naturel s’engagent à mettre ces plans à la disposition des parties qui manifestent un intérêt/ont un besoin légitimes; elles peuvent y accéder en contactant les représentants de l’entreprise concernée. Veuillez noter que certaines parties du plan peuvent ne pas être accessibles si elles contiennent une information qui ne peut être divulguée.
  • Formation et compétences – En offrant régulièrement une formation aux travailleurs, on s’assure que tout le monde comprend les risques courants et la façon de les gérer et de les réduire, et d’assurer la sécurité des travailleurs. L’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel travaille en étroite collaboration avec ENFORM, organisation indépendante spécialisée dans la sécurité qui élabore des pratiques exemplaires en la matière sur les recommandations de l’industrie et offre une formation sur la sécurité. Il est essentiel que les travailleurs soient compétents si l’on veut assurer leur sécurité durant la recherche et la production de gaz naturel.
  • Vérification et conformité – Les systèmes de gestion des entreprises peuvent respecter diverses normes nationales et internationales, ainsi que les règlements provinciaux et fédéraux. Les entreprises et les organismes de réglementation vérifient régulièrement la conformité aux programmes de sécurité, aux normes en vigueur et aux exigences réglementaires. Les programmes de vérification et les certifications sont des outils utiles permettant de s’assurer que les systèmes fonctionnent et de définir les possibilités d’amélioration.

Sécurité des opérations en mer

Le secteur extracôtier du Canada atlantique évolue dans un environnement difficile. L’éloignement des lieux de travail, les moyens de transport pour s’y rendre et les conditions météorologiques défavorables ajoutent à la complexité des opérations et font qu’il est difficile de travailler en mer.  

Les membres de notre industrie s’appuient sur des plans exhaustifs de santé et de sécurité, élaborés par les exploitants et soumis aux organismes de réglementation avant l’approbation de quelque activité que ce soit. L’Office Canada-Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers et l’Office Canada-Terre-Neuve et Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers vérifient les programmes de santé et de sécurité des entreprises, et inspectent régulièrement les lieux de travail. Ces offices ont le pouvoir d’arrêter l’exploitation en cas de préoccupations relatives à la sécurité.

PARTAGER