Natural Gas Supply, Demand, and Markets

Canada is the world’s 5th largest producer of natural gas

How much natural gas does Canada have?

Canada’s natural gas resource base is very large. We have almost 1,100 trillion cubic feet of marketable natural gas after cumulative production,– a 300-year supply based on current technology and consumption levels and well beyond the future needs of Canadians. And, Canada is the world’s 5th largest producer of natural gas.  

The North American natural gas market is oversupplied primarily due to large storage inventories and warmer than usual winters.

Body Explore Topics NG Supply Demand Markets NG 300 Years high res 

Natural gas demand

The natural gas demand cycle can vary due to weather, changes to economic growth, market conditions such as lower prices, regulatory uncertainty or changes and infrastructure constraints. Currently, Canadian natural gas supply exceeds domestic consumption or demand.

Demand for natural gas in Canada is still driven by its primary customers – industrial and residential users. 

Natural gas markets 

Market Shift:  The U.S. is Canada’s No. 1 natural gas customer and also our No.1 competitor.

Canada’s natural gas market has changed. Over the last decade, there has been a significant market shift for Canadian natural gas. While Canada is already a net exporter of natural gas, we export to only one customer: the United States. This lack of market diversity presents a significant challenge for Canadian natural gas producers, as our best customer has now become our biggest competitor.


So how did this happen? Over the past ten years, advances in horizontal drilling and multi-stage hydraulic fracturing have enabled the United States to increase its own natural gas production by 48 per cent (source: EIA). In fact, the United States has been the world’s top natural gas producer since 2011 according to the U.S. Energy Information Administration. The result has been low prices in North America due to regional oversupply, and declining exports of Canadian natural gas, particularly into the eastern regions of the United States. In these areas, shorter transportation distances give American producers a significant cost advantage. And, the United States is increasing its own exports— including into Ontario and Quebec, displacing natural gas from Western Canada.

When it comes to LNG exports, Canada has fallen behind the United States. The U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission has approved eight LNG export plant proposals, with the first cargoes already being shipped from the Sabine Pass LNG project located on the U.S. Gulf Coast. With more than ten additional projects at various stages of review, the U.S. is set to become a major exporter of natural gas by 2017 (source Energy Information Agency – EIA). While it is certainly positive to see LNG export capacity developed in the U.S., as any natural gas leaving the continent helps Canadian producers move their own resources, the world market has become more competitive.

Market diversity means expanded market access through LNG

World demand for natural gas is expected to increase 46 per cent by 2040, driven primarily by the rapidly expanding Asian economies, according the International Energy Agency. Canada’s natural gas is uniquely positioned to meet growing energy demand. We can contribute to meeting  their demand by developing a West Coast LNG industry. 

A West Coast LNG industry would be backed by our robust upstream natural gas industry. This industry has the technical know-how and a proven track record for producing large volumes of natural gas using hydraulic fracturing in a manner that is safe, cost-effective and environmentally responsible. Combined with our reputation as a reliable trading partner that observes rule of law, and that possesses world-leading environmental regulations, we are well positioned to become a trusted and preferred supplier of LNG to customers in Asia.

SHARE

Related

300 Year Supply

Canada has an abundant natural gas resource - A 300 year supply based on current technology and consumption levels.

Offre et demande de gaz naturel et marchés

Le Canada est le cinquième producteur mondial de gaz naturel.

De quelle quantité de gaz naturel le Canada dispose-t-il?

Le Canada possède de très grandes quantités de gaz naturel – près de 1 100 billions de pieds cubes de gaz naturel commercialisable après une production cumulative, ce qui représente un approvisionnement pour 300 ans avec la technologie et les niveaux de consommation actuels, et va bien au-delà des besoins futurs des Canadiens. Le Canada est le cinquième producteur mondial de gaz naturel en volume.  

Le marché nord-américain du gaz naturel est saturé, principalement en raison de stocks très importants et d’hivers plus doux que la normale.  

Demande de gaz naturel

Le cycle de demande de gaz naturel peut varier en fonction des conditions météorologiques, de l’évolution de la croissance économique, des conditions du marché (p. ex., baisse des prix), de l’incertitude ou des changements liés à la réglementation et des contraintes touchant les infrastructures. À l’heure actuelle, l’offre de gaz naturel au Canada dépasse la consommation ou la demande nationale.  

La demande de gaz naturel au Canada demeure dictée par les principaux clients – industriels et résidentiels.  

Marchés du gaz naturel 

Évolution du marché : Les États-Unis sont le principal acheteur de gaz naturel canadien, mais aussi notre principal concurrent.

Le marché du gaz naturel canadien a changé

Au cours des dix dernières années, on a observé une évolution marquée du marché du gaz naturel canadien. Le Canada est déjà un exportateur net de gaz naturel, mais il exporte vers un seul pays : les États-Unis. Ce manque de diversité pose un problème majeur aux producteurs canadiens de gaz naturel, car notre meilleur client est maintenant devenu notre principal concurrent.



Comment est-ce arrivé? Au cours des dix dernières années, les progrès en matière de forage horizontal et de fracturation hydraulique en plusieurs étapes ont permis aux États-Unis d’augmenter de 48 % leur production de gaz naturel (source : U.S. Energy Information Agency - EIA). En fait, les États-Unis sont le premier producteur mondial de gaz naturel depuis 2011, selon l’EIA. Résultat : les prix sont bas en Amérique du Nord en raison d’une surproduction régionale, et les exportations de gaz naturel canadien sont en baisse, en particulier vers les régions de l’est des États-Unis. Dans ces régions, la proximité relative de leurs clients donne aux producteurs américains un avantage non négligeable au chapitre des coûts. De plus, les États-Unis multiplient leurs propres exportations— notamment vers l’Ontario et le Québec, remplaçant ainsi le gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien.

En ce qui concerne les exportations de GNL, le Canada est désormais derrière les États-Unis. La Federal Energy Regulatory Commission américaine a approuvé huit propositions d’usines d’exportation de GNL, et les premières expéditions ont commencé à partir du site de Sabine Pass, sur la côte du golfe du Mexique. Avec plus de dix autres projets à divers stades d’examen, les États-Unis sont appelés à devenir un exportateur de gaz naturel de premier plan d’ici 2017 (Source : EIA). Même s’il est certainement encourageant que la capacité d’exportation de GNL des États-Unis se développe (car toute expédition de gaz naturel quittant le continent aide les producteurs canadiens à déplacer leurs propres ressources), la concurrence a redoublé sur le marché mondial.

La diversification des marchés permet d’accéder à d’autres marchés grâce au GNL

L’Agence internationale de l’énergie prévoit que la demande mondiale de gaz naturel va augmenter de 46 % d’ici 2040, principalement en raison de l’expansion rapide des économies asiatiques. L’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel est tout à fait en mesure de répondre à l’augmentation de la demande mondiale d’énergie. Nous pourrons le faire en développant l’industrie du GNL sur la côte ouest. 

Cette industrie serait appuyée par l’excellente santé de notre secteur du gaz naturel d’amont, qui possède l’expertise technique nécessaire et a déjà démontré sa capacité à produire des volumes élevés de gaz naturel par fracturation hydraulique, en toute sécurité, à moindre coût et dans le respect de l’environnement. Étant donné que nous avons également la réputation d’être un partenaire commercial fiable qui respecte la loi et applique une réglementation environnementale comptant parmi les plus efficaces au monde, nous sommes tout à fait en mesure de devenir un fournisseur de GNL de confiance et de prédilection pour les clients asiatiques.

PARTAGER