About LNG

World demand for natural gas is expected to increase 47 per cent by 2040.

LNG Tanker

About LNG

Liquefied natural gas (LNG) is natural gas cooled to -161°C to form a liquid. Cooling natural gas to a liquid reduces the volume of natural gas so that it can be transported safely and efficiently by ship where it is converted back to a gaseous state for use.

Canada’s LNG opportunity

World trade in LNG has more than tripled over the last 20 years, growing from 8.5 Bcf/d in 1994 to nearly 33 Bcf/d in 2015.

As Canada’s exports of natural gas to the United States, our only foreign customer, continue to decline as the United States becomes a net exporter of natural gas, the need for Canada to find other foreign customers is critical. 

Central Canada natural gas imports

With world demand for natural gas expected to increase 47 per cent by 2040, developing Canada’s LNG industry is critical to the future of Canada’s natural gas producers.  Canada’s potential participation in the LNG market is driven by a number of factors: 

  • The large resource base located near the country’s West Coast
  • The proximity of Canada’s West Coast to Asian markets
  • An influx of foreign investment from countries that consume LNG
  • The need for Canadian producers to increase their market diversification
  • The desire to access markets with the potential of higher returns given the relatively low natural gas prices currently found in North America compared to world markets
Body Natural Gas Potential About LNG Asian Markets Map

Key facts:

A Canadian LNG industry in B.C. exporting 30 million tonnes each year will:

  • Generate $3.2 billion in federal government revenues annually.
  • Generate $3.0 billion in government revenues for British Columbia annually.
  • Increase national employment by an average of 65,000 jobs.
  • Reduce B.C.’s unemployment rate by an average of 0.5 per cent over the 30 year period.

(Source: Conference Board of Canada)

LNG Markets and environmental benefits

Natural gas has a substantial impact on reducing emissions of CO2 as well as harmful pollutants in countries that rely heavily on coal for power generation.  Asia and Asia Pacific markets continue to dominate LNG imports, consuming 70 per cent of the LNG production in 2015.  Japan has very limited domestic supplies of natural gas, and as a populous country with a highly developed economy, it has emerged as the world’s largest consumer of LNG.

Canadian natural gas can provide a global net environmental benefit: by exporting this cleanest-burning hydrocarbon in its liquid form, Canadian natural gas can displace fuels with a higher greenhouse gas emission profile and  higher emissions of harmful pollutants such as particulate matter and mercury emissions, thus reducing global pollution.  

SHARE

À propos du GNL

On prévoit que la demande mondiale de gaz naturel va augmenter de 47 % d’ici 2040.


Le gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) est un gaz naturel dont on abaisse la température à -161 °C pour former un liquide. Ce procédé réduit le volume du gaz naturel, ce qui permet de le transporter efficacement et en toute sécurité dans des navires où il est regazéifié en vue d’être utilisé. 

Possibilités créées par le GNL pour le Canada 

Le commerce mondial du GNL a plus que triplé au cours des 20 dernières années, passant de 8,5 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 1994 à près de 33 milliards de pieds cubes par jour en 2015.  

Compte tenu de la poursuite de la baisse des exportations canadiennes de gaz naturel vers les États-Unis (notre seul client étranger), qui sont en train de devenir un exportateur net de gaz naturel, il est essentiel que le Canada trouve d’autres clients à l’étranger.   

Étant donné qu’on anticipe une augmentation de 47 % de la demande mondiale de gaz naturel d’ici 2040, le développement de l’industrie canadienne du GNL est essentiel pour l’avenir des producteurs canadiens de gaz naturel. La participation potentielle du Canada au marché du GNL dépend de divers facteurs : 

  • Les ressources importantes à proximité de la côte ouest du pays 
  • La proximité entre la côte ouest canadienne et les marchés asiatiques 
  • Un apport d’investissements étrangers en provenance de pays qui consomment du GNL 
  • La nécessité pour les producteurs canadiens de diversifier davantage leurs marchés 
  • La volonté d’accéder à des marchés susceptibles d’offrir un rendement plus élevé compte tenu du prix relativement bas du gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord par rapport aux marchés mondiaux 

 

Faits saillants : 

  • L’exportation de 30 millions de tonnes par an par l’industrie du GNL de la Colombie-Britannique va : 
  • Générer 3,2 milliards de revenus annuels pour le gouvernement fédéral.
  • Générer 3 milliards de revenus annuels pour le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • Entraîner la création de 65 000 emplois en moyenne à l’échelle nationale.
  • Réduire le taux de chômage de la Colombie-Britannique de 0,5 % en moyenne sur une période de 30 ans. (Source : Conference Board du Canada)

Marchés du GNL et avantages pour l’environnement 

Le gaz naturel a un impact non négligeable sur la réduction des émissions de CO2 et de polluants nocifs dans les pays qui dépendent fortement du charbon pour leur production d’électricité. Les marchés de l’Asie et de la région Asie-Pacifique demeurent les principaux importateurs de GNL – ils ont consommé 70 % de la production de GNL en 2015. Le Japon, dont les réserves nationales de gaz naturel sont très limitées, et qui est un pays très peuplé dont l’économie est très dynamique, est devenu le plus gros consommateur de GNL au monde. 

Le gaz naturel canadien génère un avantage net pour l’environnement mondial : en exportant sous sa forme liquide cet hydrocarbure le plus propre, on pourra remplacer des combustibles dont les émissions de gaz à effet de serre sont plus élevées et qui génèrent plus de polluants nocifs, comme les particules et le mercure, ce qui réduira la pollution à l’échelle planétaire.