Canada's Natural Gas Resource

Natural gas has been part of Canada's energy mix since 1859.

Natural gas occurs naturally and is made of mostly methane, but it may also contain small amounts of other gases such as ethane, propane, butane and pentanes. Natural gas may also contain sulphur compounds, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, water and other substances.  

Canada’s Natural Gas History  

Natural gas has been a part of Canada’s energy mix for almost 160 years. Natural gas was discovered in:  

  • New Brunswick in 1859  
  • Ontario in 1866  
  • Alberta in 1883  
  • Offshore Nova Scotia in 1967 

Formation 

Natural gas was formed millions of years ago when heat and pressure transformed decaying plant and animal matter buried in sedimentary rock layers. Much of the gas produced today is trapped under a thick layer of rock that prevents it from flowing easily to the surface.   

Body Natural Gas Potential The Resource Geology Schematic

Source: IEA

  

Sources of natural gas  

Natural gas resources are known as either conventional or unconventional. The difference between them is the manner, ease and costs associated with development.  Conventional natural gas means gas that is trapped in multiple, small, porous rock such as sandstone. This natural gas is easy to produce using traditional drilling methods. However, most of these conventional reserves in Canada have been fully developed. The recovery of natural gas from unconventional reserves in tight rock formations, such as shale and carbonate, through a combination of horizontal drilling and multi-stage hydraulic fracturing has greatly increased Canada’s recoverable natural gas reserves. One benefit to this type of resource is the ability to drill multiple wells on the same well pad allowing for greater resource recovery on a reduced land footprint. Produced natural gas is natural gas that has already been recovered.  

Canada’s remaining natural gas resource (tcf)  

  • Unconventional – 754  
  • Conventional – 318  
  • Produced – 203  

Did you know?  

Ontario has 900 active natural gas wells that produced 5.7 bcf in 2015 (Source: CAPP)  In 2015, Canada exported almost 50 per cent of its marketable natural gas (Source: CAPP)    

Where is natural gas found in Canada?  

Natural gas production in Canada is mainly from the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB) in British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. Unconventional gas is primarily located in northeast British Columbia and northwest Alberta. Natural gas is also produced from offshore Nova Scotia and smaller amounts are produced in Ontario and New Brunswick.  

Body Natural Gas Potential The Resource Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin Map

Source: NEB, Canada's Energy Future 2015

Atlantic Canada is currently the only region producing natural gas offshore. Offshore exploration programs are active and there are two offshore natural gas projects in production in Nova Scotia.   

Two natural gas projects are located offshore Nova Scotia:   

  • The Sable Offshore Energy Project began producing natural gas in 1999. The project is located on the Scotian Shelf, approximately 200 kilometres off the coast of Nova Scotia. 
  • Deep Panuke started producing natural gas from the Deep Panuke field in 2013. The project is located approximately 250 kilometres southeast of Halifax on the Scotian Shelf.

SHARE

Related

Canadian natural gas developed responsibly

The world needs more energy and a cleaner environment too. As demand for energy increases, we must look for innovative ways to safely and responsibly develop our resources.

Ressources du Canada en gaz naturel

Le gaz naturel fait partie du bouquet énergétique canadien depuis 1859.

Le gaz naturel est présent dans l’environnement. Il est principalement composé de méthane, mais peut aussi contenir de petites quantités d’autres gaz, comme l’éthane, le propane, le butane et les pentanes. Il peut en outre contenir des composés sulfurés, de l’azote, du dioxyde de carbone, de l’eau et d’autres substances. 

L’histoire du gaz naturel au Canada 

Le gaz naturel fait partie du bouquet énergétique canadien depuis près de 160 ans. Du gaz naturel a été découvert : 

  • Au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1859 
  • En Ontario en 1866
  • En Alberta en 1883
  • Au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1967 

Formation 

Le gaz naturel s’est formé il y a des millions d’années, quand la chaleur et la pression ont transformé des matières végétales et animales en décomposition en couches de roche sédimentaire. La majeure partie du gaz produit aujourd’hui est emprisonnée dans une épaisse couche de roches qui l’empêche de circuler facilement jusqu’à la surface. 

 

Sources de gaz naturel 

Les ressources en gaz naturel peuvent être conventionnelles ou non conventionnelles. La différence entre les deux tient au mode d’exploitation, à la facilité d’exploitation et aux coûts connexes. L’exploitation est conventionnelle quand le gaz naturel est emprisonné dans de nombreuses roches poreuses de petite taille, comme le grès. Le gaz naturel est alors facile à produire à l’aide de méthodes de forage traditionnelles. Cependant, la plupart des réserves conventionnelles que possède le Canada ont été pleinement exploitées. La récupération non conventionnelle vise les réserves de gaz naturel se trouvant dans les formations rocheuses étanches, comme le schiste et le carbonate, et se fait à l’aide d’une combinaison de forage horizontal et de fracturation hydraulique en plusieurs étapes; elle a fait considérablement augmenter les réserves canadiennes de gaz naturel récupérable. Un des avantages que présente ce type de ressource est la possibilité de forer plusieurs puits sur une même plateforme, ce qui permet d’extraire plus de gaz tout en réduisant l’empreinte environnementale. Le gaz naturel produit est un gaz naturel qui a déjà été récupéré. 

Réserves actuelles de gaz naturel du Canada (en billions de pi3) 

  • Non conventionnelles – 754 
  • Conventionnelles – 318 
  • Gaz produit – 203 

Le saviez-vous? 

  • En Ontario, 900 puits de gaz naturel actifs ont produit 5,7 milliards de pi3 en 2015 (Source : ACPP)
  • En 2015, le Canada a exporté près de 50 % de son gaz naturel commercialisable (Source : ACPP) 

Où trouve-t-on du gaz naturel au Canada?

Le gaz naturel produit au Canada provient principalement du bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien (BSOC), en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta et en Saskatchewan. Les réserves non conventionnelles de gaz se trouvent principalement en Colombie-Britannique et dans le nord-ouest de l’Alberta. On produit également du gaz naturel au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse et, en plus petites quantités, en Ontario et au Nouveau-Brunswick. 

Le Canada atlantique est actuellement la seule région produisant du gaz naturel en mer. Des programmes d’exploration en mer sont en cours, et il existe deux sites de production actifs de gaz naturel au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse. 

Deux sites de production de gaz naturel se trouvent au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse : 

  • Le Sable Offshore Energy Project a commencé à produire du gaz naturel en 1999. Le site se trouve sur la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise, à environ 200 kilomètres des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse.
  • Le site de Deep Panuke a commencé à produire du gaz naturel à partir du gisement Deep Panuke en 2013. Il se trouve à environ 250 kilomètres au sud-est de Halifax, sur la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise.

Connexe

Le gaz naturel canadien : exploité de façon responsable

Le monde a besoin de plus d’énergie, ainsi qu’un environnement plus propre. Lorsque la demande d’énergie augmente, nous devons chercher des moyens novateurs de développer nos ressources de façon sécuritaire et responsable.