Environmental Opportunity

Canada can become a world leader on climate action through a united commitment to technology and innovation, and by continuing to develop its natural gas sector responsibly.

Natural Gas Stove

The global impact from Canadian natural gas presents a significant environmental benefit. Natural gas is the cleanest-burning hydrocarbon – emitting about half the greenhouse gases that coal does, when used in electricity generation.  

Exports of Canadian LNG to Asia, for example, would help displace the use of coal to generate electricity and increase natural gas powered vehicles —resulting in lower levels of smog and decreased GHG emissions. In fact, for every 1,000 MW of coal-fired power generation converted to natural gas powered electricity, annual CO2 equivalent emissions are reduced by 4.4 million tonnes or just over one half of one per cent of Canada’s total. (Source: CAPP) 

The expanded use of natural gas as a fuel for vehicles also reduces GHG emissions between 17 and 19 per cent when compared to diesel fuel vehicles (Source: Canadian Natural Gas Vehicle Alliance) and natural gas vehicles produce about 18 per cent fewer smog pollutants.

 

A partner with renewable energy

Natural gas can also play an important role in advancing renewable energy here at home and globally. Used as a partner with renewable energy, natural gas can be added to the electrical grid to fill the gap when intermittent renewables, such as wind and solar, are not available.    

According to a National Energy Board report, electrical generation capacity in Canada will have to grow 27 per cent by 2035 in order to meet increasing demand with natural gas-fired and renewable-based energy showing the largest increases. The NEB expects electrical generation from natural gas to increase from nine per cent to 15 per cent and generation from renewables to grow from three per cent to 12 per cent. (Source: Canada’s Energy Future: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035) 

SHARE

Avantages pour l’environnement

Le gaz naturel canadien présente des avantages non négligeables pour l’environnement


À l’échelle mondiale, le gaz naturel a un impact positif non négligeable sur l’environnement. C’est l’hydrocarbure dont la combustion est la plus propre – il rejette deux fois moins d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre que le charbon pour la production d’électricité. 

Par example, les exportations de gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) vers l’Asie permettraient de remplacer le charbon pour la production d’électricité et de multiplier le nombre de véhicules alimentés au gaz naturel — ce qui réduirait les niveaux de smog et les émissions de GES. En fait, pour chaque tranche de 1 000 MW d’électricité produite à l’aide de gaz naturel plutôt que de charbon, on réduit les émissions annuelles d’équivalent CO2 de 4,4 millions de tonnes, soit juste un peu plus de 0,5 % des émissions totales du Canada. (Source : ACPP).  

Par ailleurs, l’utilisation accrue du gaz naturel comme combustible dans les véhicules réduit les émissions de GES de 17 à 19 % par rapport à celles des véhicules diesel (Source : Alliance canadienne pour les véhicules au gaz naturel). Et les véhicules au gaz naturel produisent environ 18 % moins de polluants à l’origine du smog. 

Un partenaire des énergies renouvelables  

Le gaz naturel peut également jouer un rôle important pour la promotion des énergies renouvelables, au Canada et dans le reste du monde. Utilisé de façon complémentaire, il peut être ajouté au réseau électrique pour combler les carences de production causées par le caractère intermittent d’énergies renouvelables comme l’énergie éolienne et solaire.     

Selon un rapport de l’Office national de l’énergie, la capacité de production d’électricité du Canada devra augmenter de 27 % d’ici 2035 pour répondre à l’augmentation de la demande d’électricité, et ce sont le gaz naturel et les énergies renouvelables qui vont afficher la plus forte augmentation. L’ONE prévoit que la production d’électricité à partir de gaz naturel va passer de 9 à 15 %, et que la production d’électricité à l’aide d’énergies renouvelables passera de 3 à 12 %. (Source : Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 – Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2035)