Transportation Opportunity

Natural gas provides a viable transportation fuel source for Canadians

Using natural gas as a fuel source is well-suited for return-to-base and regional corridor fleets and has many benefits including:

  • Reduced greenhouse gas emissions by 20 per cent to 25 per cent when compared to diesel (Source: Go With Natural Gas)
  • Fuel cost savings of up to 30 per cent to 40 per cent, per kilometre
  • Quieter vehicles providing less noise in urban settings
  • Lower levels of air pollutants

Natural gas has less energy by volume than diesel fuel so it must be compressed (CNG) or liquefied (LNG) in order to store enough energy for adequate driving range. The choice of whether to use CNG or LNG depends on vehicle requirements and product availability.

Calgary Transit Natural Gas Bus

Key facts: (Source: Enbridge)

There are more than 12,000 natural gas vehicles in Canada.

Fuel savings over 40 per cent when used as an alternate fuel source for transportation, greenhouse gas emissions are reduced by 20 to 25 per cent as compared to diesel. Natural gas vehicles produce 18 per cent less smog pollutants.

Canadian success stories

A number of Canadian companies have fleets using natural gas as their fuel choice including:

  • Robert Trucking - Natural gas fuels 15 per cent of their transport fleet that travel between Ontario and Quebec along the Highway 401 and Autoroute 20 corridor.
  • Calgary Transit - In 2013, the City of Calgary introduced natural gas buses into their public transit fleet. With funding support from the Government of Canada, the City of Calgary is constructing a new storage and maintenance facility for the city’s fleet of natural gas buses. The facility will house up to 400 business and provide on-site natural gas storage and distribution infrastructure.
  • Waste Management - Waste Management is the largest operator of natural gas refuse collection trucks in North America with a fleet of more than 2,000 trucks that operate on natural gas. The company has two Canadian natural gas projects operating in British Columbia and Ontario.
  • Enbridge Gas Distribution - Enbridge operates more than 600 natural gas vehicles in Canada and is supported by 32 retail fuel stations. In Ontario, Enbridge operates six natural gas employee van pools that reduces 262 tonnes of CO2 year.

SHARE

Possibilités liées au transport

Le gaz naturel est le principal carburant de remplacement utilisé par les parcs d’autobus de transport en commun et de camions lourds dans l’ensemble du pays.

Le gaz naturel, qui convient parfaitement aux véhicules de desserte locale et à ceux qui empruntent les corridors de transport régional, présente de nombreux avantages:

Le gaz naturel produit moins d’énergie par volume que le diesel; il faut donc le comprimer (GNC) ou le liquéfier (GNL) afin qu’il emmagasine assez d’énergie pour donner l’autonomie nécessaire aux véhicules. Le choix entre le GNC et le GNL dépend des véhicules dont on a besoin et de la disponibilité du produit.

Faits saillants (La source: Enbridge)

  • Il y a plus de 12000 véhicules fonctionnant au gaz naturel au Canada.
  • Économies de carburant de plus de 40% quand le gaz naturel est utilisé comme carburant de remplacement pour le transport, les émissions de GES sont réduites de 20 à 25% par rapport au diesel. Les véhicules au gaz naturel produisent 18 % moins de polluants à l’origine du smog.

Histoires de réussite au Canada

Un certain nombre d’entreprises canadiennes ont un parc de véhicules fonctionnant au gaz naturel, par exemple

  • Robert Trucking - Le gaz naturel alimente 15% de ses véhicules, qui circulent entre l’Ontario et le Québec sur l’Autoroute 401 et l’Autoroute 20.
  • Calgary Transit - En 2013, la ville de Calgary a intégré des autobus au gaz naturel à son parc de véhicules de transport en commun. Avec le soutien financier du gouvernement du Canada, la ville est en train de construire un nouvel entrepôt où seront stationnés et entretenus les autobus au gaz naturel. Cette installation pourra accueillir jusqu’à 400 autobus et offrira une infrastructure de stockage et de distribution de gaz naturel sur place.
  • Waste Management - La société Waste Management est le plus gros exploitant de camions de collecte des ordures fonctionnant au gaz naturel en Amérique du Nord, avec un parc de plus de 2000 camions. La société gère deux projets utilisant du gaz naturel au Canada, un en Colombie-Britannique et l’autre en Ontario.
  • Enbridge Gas Distribution - Enbridge utilise plus de 600 véhicules au gaz naturel au Canada et dispose de plus de 32 stations-service. En Ontario, Enbridge utilise six véhicules au gaz naturel pour le covoiturage de ses employés, ce qui réduit ses émissions de CO2 de 262 tonnes par an.