Understanding Natural Gas

Exploration, production and transmission are key elements in the supply of natural gas.

Shell Natural Gas Operations

From exploration to end use 

Finding, developing, processing and transporting natural gas for end use is a complex process that involves the expertise of many well-trained professionals who ensure natural gas is developed and delivered safely to 6,800,000 (Canadian Gas Association) Canadian homes and businesses every day. Below is a list of key players involved: 

  • Exploration and production company – also known as the ‘producer,’ holds the lease rights to land where they are exploring and potentially producing natural gas
  • Service company – companies that are contracted by the producer for:
    -Drilling, completions and related services
    -Hydraulic fracturing operations
    -Seismic testingOther services such as waste disposal, water supply, road construction
  • Regulator – The provincial or federal agency that provides regulatory oversight and enforcement for natural gas development and operations including exploration, development, pipeline transportation and reclamation
  • Geologists and geophysicists – key members of the producer company who help determine the potential for natural gas in a given location.

Phase 1 – Exploration 

Ownership of the mineral or below surface rights is usually held by the government. The government may provide a time-limited right, or agreement, to a producer to develop resources such as natural gas.  These rights are sold to companies through auctions that are overseen by the relevant government organization. All subsequent exploration and production activities that take place are managed through strong and effective government regulations. 

Once the producer has secured rights to the land, geologists and geophysicists examine the underground potential for natural gas. Once the geo-experts find an area where natural gas likely exists, more tests may be conducted to ensure natural gas is present. For example, seismic testing, contracted to a third-party, provides insight into potential sources of natural gas by using seismic waves to understand how the earth interacts with various types of underground formations. In some cases, a producer may choose to drill a test well to determine the resource potential. Based on all of the testing and data collected, a drilling site is selected.  

Phase 2 – Development 

Once a natural gas deposit has been selected, a company negotiates surface access rights with the landowner and a crew of contracted drilling experts drills the well.  The drilling company works with the producer to manage drilling operations. This may include running logging tests during and after the drilling process to monitor the progress of the well drilling and to gain a better idea of underground formations. 

If the natural gas deposit if located in tight rock formations, hydraulic fracturing may be required to help open the rock and provide an open pathway for the natural gas to flow to the surface. Hydraulic fracturing service companies are experts in this process and are contracted to perform this work. (Sources: CAPP, PSAC) 

Once the natural gas is freely flowing, the well is completed by replacing all of the drilling equipment with a wellhead connected to gathering pipelines and other processing facilities.   

Phase 3 – Processing  

The producer moves the natural gas through gathering pipelines to processing facilities. Here, the natural gas is separated from water, impurities and other gases such as sulphur dioxide. Some gas plants also remove natural gas liquids (NGLs) such as ethane, propane, and butane. When natural gas processing is finished, the cleaned natural gas is ready for a distributor to ship and deliver through their pipeline network to consumers.  

Phase 4 – Distribution, storage and delivery

The transportation system for natural gas is made up of a network of pipelines that move product safely, quickly and efficiently from the processing facilities to end users. After natural gas is processed, it moves through transmission pipelines. These pipelines are owned and operated by various pipeline operators. 

Natural gas flows through transmission pipelines with the help of compressors placed along the pipeline system to help flow it through the pipe to its destination. Natural gas may also be stored for long periods of time in underground facilities for use at a later time. At the final destination, local distribution companies or gas utilities reduce the pressure so the natural gas can travel through a smaller distribution network for local delivery to homes and businesses.

SHARE

Comprendre le gaz naturel

L’exploration, la production et le transport sont des éléments clés de l’approvisionnement en gaz naturel.


La recherche, l’exploitation, le traitement et le transport du gaz naturel en vue de son utilisation finale constituent un processus complexe nécessitant l’expertise de nombreux professionnels spécialement formés, qui veillent à ce que le gaz naturel soit exploité et acheminé chaque jour en toute sécurité à 6 800 000 entreprises et foyers canadiens (Association canadienne du gaz). Voici les intervenants concernés : 

  • Entreprise d’exploration et de production – On l’appelle aussi le « producteur ». Elle détient les droits sur les baux fonciers pour les terres où elle cherche et produit potentiellement du gaz naturel.
  • Entreprises de services – Entreprises que le producteur engage en sous-traitance pour :
    -Le forage et la complétion des puits, et les services connexes
    -Les opérations de fracturation hydrauliqueLa prospection sismique
    -D’autres services comme l’élimination des déchets, l’approvisionnement en eau et la construction de routes
  • Organisme de réglementation – Organisme provincial ou fédéral qui assure la supervision réglementaire et l’application de la loi pour le cycle d’exploitation du gaz naturel, qui inclut l’exploration, l’exploitation, le transport par gazoduc et la remise en état.
  • Géologues et géophysiciens – Employés clés de l’entreprise du producteur qui aident à déterminer le potentiel de production de gaz naturel d’un site donné.

Phase 1 – Exploration 

Les droits miniers et les droits d’exploitation du sous-sol sont généralement détenus par le gouvernement. Celui-ci peut offrir pour une durée limitée au producteur le droit d’exploiter une ressource comme le gaz naturel, ou conclure avec lui une entente limitée à cet effet. Ces droits sont vendus aux enchères aux entreprises, sous la supervision de l’organisme gouvernemental compétent. Toutes les activités d’exploration et de production subséquentes sont assujetties à des règlements gouvernementaux à la fois stricts et efficaces. 

Après que le producteur a acquis les droits fonciers, des géologues et des géophysiciens examinent les possibilités d’extraction de gaz naturel du sous-sol. Une fois que ces experts ont repéré une zone où se trouve probablement du gaz naturel, il se peut qu’ils fassent davantage de tests pour garantir la présence de gaz naturel. Par exemple, la prospection sismique, confiée à un sous-traitant, permet de connaître les sources potentielles de gaz naturel à l’aide d’ondes sismiques, et de comprendre ainsi comment le sol interagit avec divers types de formations souterraines. 

Dans certains cas, le producteur peut choisir de forer un puits d’essai pour déterminer les ressources potentielles. En fonction de tous les essais réalisés et des données recueillies, on choisit un site de forage. 

Phase 2 – Exploitation 

Une fois qu’un gisement de gaz naturel a été choisi, une entreprise négocie les droits d’accès de surface avec le propriétaire foncier, et une équipe de sous-traitants experts en forage fore le puits. L’entreprise de forage travaille avec le producteur pour gérer les opérations de forage. Cela peut comprendre des tests de diagraphie pendant et après le forage, visant à surveiller l’avancement du forage du puits et à avoir une meilleure idée des formations souterraines. 

Si le gisement de gaz naturel se trouve dans des formations rocheuses peu perméables, on pourrait devoir recourir à la fracturation hydraulique, qui ouvrira la voie au gaz naturel vers la surface. Les entreprises qui font de la fracturation hydraulique sont spécialistes de ce procédé; on les engage en sous-traitance pour exécuter les travaux. (Sources : ACPP, Petroleum Services Association of Canada) 

Une fois que le gaz naturel s’écoule librement, on complète le puits en remplaçant l’intégralité de l’équipement de forage par une tête de puits connectée à des conduites de collecte et à des installations de traitement.    

Phase 3 – Traitement 

Le producteur transporte le gaz naturel à l’aide des conduites de collecte jusqu’aux installations de traitement. C’est là que le gaz naturel est séparé de l’eau, des impuretés et des autres gaz comme le dioxyde de soufre. Certaines usines extraient également des liquides de gaz naturel (LGN) comme l’éthane, le propane et le butane. Lorsque le traitement du gaz naturel est terminé, le gaz propre est prêt à être expédié par un distributeur et acheminé aux consommateurs par son réseau de gazoducs.  

Phase 4 – Distribution, stockage et livraison

Le système de transport du gaz naturel est composé d’un réseau de gazoducs qui permettent de transporter le produit rapidement, efficacement et en toute sécurité des installations de traitement jusqu’aux utilisateurs. Après avoir été traité, le gaz naturel se déplace dans des gazoducs de transport, que possèdent et exploitent divers opérateurs de gazoducs.   

Le gaz naturel circule dans les gazoducs de transport jusqu’à sa destination à l’aide de compresseurs installés tout au long du réseau. Il peut également être stocké pendant de longues périodes dans des installations souterraines, en vue d’une utilisation ultérieure. Quand il est arrivé à sa destination finale, les entreprises de distribution ou les compagnies de gaz locales réduisent la pression, de sorte que le gaz naturel puisse circuler dans un plus petit réseau de distribution en vue d’une livraison aux résidences et aux entreprises locales.