Land

Canada’s oil and natural gas industry is committed to land reclamation and effective land management.

Natural gas exploration and production does have an impact on the land. Canada’s natural gas industry minimizes impacts by avoiding sensitive habitat, using narrow seismic lines, low-impact pipeline methods and other measures. Effective land management regulations ensure that the land is returned to an acceptable state once operations have reached the end of their producing life.

Innovative alternatives to accelerate reclamation

Companies conduct a myriad of research programs to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of their reclamation. For example, Canadian Natural Resources Limited (Canadian Natural) is examining improved methods of soil salvage to retain the valuable characteristics of soil nutrients and structures, as well as seed and root stocks for revegetation.

Encana is collaborating with several First Nations in B.C. to select the best native plant species for revegetation, and their wetland reclamation project near Nordegg, Alberta now supports moose, elk, black and grizzly bears, wolves, deer and a number of waterfowl species.

CNRL Reclamation research

SHARE

Terres

L’industrie canadienne du pétrole et du gaz naturel s’engage à faire une gestion efficace des terres et à remettre celles-ci en état.

La recherche et la production de gaz naturel ont un impact certain sur les terres. L’industrie gazière canadienne minimise ces impacts en évitant les habitats sensibles, en utilisant des lignes sismiques étroites, des méthodes d’installation de pipeline à faible impact, de même que diverses autres mesures.  Une réglementation efficace de la gestion des terres garantit que celles-ci seront remises en état de façon acceptable, une fois que le cycle de production sera arrivé à son terme.

Autres solutions innovatrices pour accélérer la remise en état

Les entreprises mettent en place une multitude de programmes de recherche visant à améliorer l’efficacité de leurs remises en état. Par exemple, Canadian Natural Resources Limited (Canadian Natural) explore de meilleures méthodes de récupération du sol afin d’en préserver les nutriments et la structure, de même que les semences et les porte-greffes en vue de la végétalisation.

Encana collabore avec plusieurs Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique afin d’identifier les meilleures espèces de plantes indigènes pour la végétalisation. Leur projet de remise en état des milieux humides près de Nordegg, en Alberta, accueille maintenant des orignaux, des wapitis, des ours noirs, des grizzlis, des loups, des cerfs et certaines espèces de gibier d’eau.


PARTAGER