Land Use

Industry works to minimize land disturbance

The natural gas industry is expected to be a good steward of the land and is responsible for implementing good land management practices in order to minimize impacts. Managing the impacts of natural gas development begins at project siting and design and continues throughout construction, operations and eventually through to decommissioning and site reclamation. This process is typically guided by completing land-use studies prior to development to determine the best overall approach to managing impacts of development on sensitive ecosystems which, for example, could include active nesting sites for birds.

Technology reduces the environmental footprint

Recent technological advances in horizontal drilling and the use of multi-well drilling pads have greatly reduced the amount of land disturbed in natural gas drilling operations. For example, a 20-well horizontal drilling pad disturbs about five per cent of the land of equal number of vertical drilling pads. And by using common roads to access well sites, additional disturbances on the land are reduced.

 
 Body Environmental Action Land Use Well Surface Comparison 

Understanding surface and mineral rights

Most land in western Canada has two land titles – surface rights and mineral or subsurface rights. Mineral or subsurface rights are usually owned by the government. As a property owner, you own the surface rights.

The government may award a time-limited lease for the mineral rights to a company who wants to develop natural gas or oil. Mineral leases are time-limited and are valid from three to ten years. While the government grants mineral rights to a company to explore for and produce oil and natural gas, access to mineral rights does not include access to the surface land. Surface access is granted by the landowner.  

Who awards mineral rights?

  • In B.C., mineral rights are awarded by the Ministry of Natural Gas Development. The ministry provides notification of mineral rights awards to landowners.
  • In Alberta, the Ministry of Energy awards rights and landowners are notified via the Alberta Mineral Information system (AMI).

Securing access to a landowner's property

Once a company has secured the mineral rights they will negotiate a surface lease with the landowner. The agreement will:

  • Outline the proposed exploration and development activities
  • Detail the construction and maintenance of any above ground structures
  • Provide fair compensation for surface access to well sites and related infrastructure
  • Include a survey plan showing access, dimensions of the lease area and location of the well and infrastructure proposed

SHARE

Utilisation des terres

L’industrie s’efforce de minimiser la perturbation des terres.

On attend de l’industrie du gaz naturel qu’elle gère adéquatement les terres et adopte de bonnes pratiques en la matière afin de minimiser ses impacts. La gestion des impacts de l’exploitation du gaz naturel commence par le choix des sites et leur conception, et se poursuit tout au long de la construction, pendant les opérations et jusqu’au déclassement et à la remise en état du site. Ce processus est généralement guidé par des études sur l’utilisation des terres préalables à l’exploitation, qui déterminent la meilleure approche globale de la gestion des impacts de l’exploitation sur les écosystèmes sensibles, par exemple ceux qui pourraient constituer des sites de nidification pour les oiseaux.

Faire appel à la technologie pour réduire l’empreinte écologique

Les récents progrès technologiques en matière de forage horizontal et l’utilisation de plateformes de forage à plusieurs puits ont réduit fortement le nombre de terres perturbées par les activités de forage du gaz naturel. Par exemple, une plateforme horizontale à 20 puits perturbe environ 5 % des terres qui seraient perturbées par 20 plateformes de forage verticales. De plus, en utilisant les mêmes routes pour accéder aux puits, on réduit encore davantage les perturbations subies par les terres. 
 

Comprendre les droits miniers et de surface

Dans l’Ouest canadien, la plupart des terrains comportent deux titres fonciers: les droits de surface et les droits miniers ou tréfonciers. Les droits miniers ou tréfonciers sont habituellement détenus par le gouvernement. En tant que propriétaire foncier, vous disposez des droits de surface.

Le gouvernement peut accorder un bail à durée limitée visant les droits miniers à une entreprise qui souhaite exploiter du gaz naturel ou du pétrole. De telles concessions minières sont limitées dans le temps et sont valides pour une durée de trois à dix ans. Bien que le gouvernement puisse octroyer des droits miniers à une entreprise pour la prospection et l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz naturel, ces droits ne comprennent pas l’accès à la surface du terrain. L’accès à la surface de la propriété est accordé par le propriétaire foncier.

Qui peut accorder des droits miniers?

  • En Colombie-Britannique, les droits miniers sont accordés par le ministère de la Mise en valeur des ressources gazières (Ministry of Natural Gas Development). C’est également ce ministère qui avise les propriétaires fonciers dont le terrain est visé par des droits miniers.
  • En Alberta, c’est le ministère de l’énergie qui accorde les droits. Les propriétaires fonciers sont avisés par l’entremise du Alberta Mineral Information system (AMI).

Garantir l’accès au terrain d’un propriétaire foncier

Lorsqu’elle aura obtenu ses droits miniers, l’entreprise négociera un bail de surface avec le propriétaire foncier. Cette entente comprendra:

  • Un aperçu des activités projetées de prospection et d’exploitation
  • Un portrait détaillé de la construction et de l’entretien de toute structure à la surface
  • Une indemnisation juste pour l’accès, en surface, aux sites des puits et aux infrastructures connexes
  • Un plan d’arpentage qui illustre l’accès, les dimensions de la zone visée par le bail ainsi que l’emplacement du puits et des infrastructures proposées



PARTAGER