Liability

Life Cycle of a Well

Every company that explores for and develops Canada’s oil and natural gas resources is financially responsible for safely managing each well it drills, as well as any associated facilities. This includes all stages of a well’s life cycle: exploration, development and operation, as well as end-of-life activities including abandonment and reclamation.

Body Environmental Action Land Liability Life Cycle of a Well

When an oil or natural gas well is no longer productive, the operating company is required by regulations to remove equipment and reclaim the site. 

WELL CLASSIFICATIONS

Abandoned

A well that is permanently shut down, is plugged, has the wellhead removed, and is considered safe and secure by regulations.

Active

A well that is currently producing oil or natural gas.

Inactive

A well that has not produced oil or natural gas in 12 months.

Suspended

A well that is not currently producing, has been safely secured, but may produce in the future.

Orphan

A well that no longer has an identifiable owner.

Reclamation Certified (Rec Cert)

Well sites that are remediated and reclaimed to the regulatory standard of the day.

Abandoned wells

Once a well has been abandoned, the site proceeds through the stages of remediation and reclamation. Companies hire qualified environmental consultants to assess the presence or absence of any soil or groundwater contamination, and produce a report detailing how any contamination has been mitigated and confirming the site has been remediated in accordance with provincial requirements.

Managing orphan wells

Abandoned, inactive and suspended wells have an identifiable owner, the licensee, and are financially managed by the licensee through to end-of-life activities. In Alberta, to protect against licensees whose businesses failed and are unable to cover the costs for abandonment and reclamation, the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) collects an annual levy (the Orphan Well Levy) from all active oil and natural gas producers and remits these funds to the Orphan Well Association (OWA). The Orphan Well Levy is 100 per cent funded by industry.  The OWA, on behalf of industry, conducts testing to determine the work needed to abandon the well safely, and then oversees performance of this task.

SHARE

Related

How Industry Reclaims the Land

Industry is responsible for the reclamation and remediation of all industry related projects.

Responsabilité

Cycle de vie d’un puits

Cycle de vie d’un puits

Au Canada, chaque entreprise qui cherche et exploite des ressources pétrolières et gazières est financièrement responsable de la gestion sécuritaire de chacun de ses forages, mais aussi de toutes les installations connexes. Cela comprend toutes les étapes du cycle de vie du puits (exploration, mise en place et exploitation), mais aussi les activités de fin de vie utile, ce qui inclut la fermeture et la remise en état du site.

Quand un site d’exploitation de pétrole et de gaz naturel n’est plus productif, l’entreprise qui l’exploite est tenue, en vertu de la réglementation, de retirer l’équipement et de remettre le site en état. 

Classification des puits

  • Actif: le puits produit actuellement du pétrole ou du gaz naturel.
  • Inactif: le puits n’a pas produit de pétrole ou de gaz naturel depuis 12 mois.
  • Suspendu: le puits ne produit pas actuellement et a été sécurisé, mais pourrait produire de nouveau.
  • Abandonné: le puits est fermé de façon permanente et bouché, la tête de puits a été retirée et il est jugé sûr et sécuritaire en vertu de la réglementation.
  • Orphelin: le puits n’a plus de propriétaire identifiable.
  • Remise en état certifiée: sites de puits qui ont fait l’objet d’une restauration et d’une remise en état conformes aux normes en vigueur.

Puits abandonnés

Lorsqu’un puits est abandonné, le site doit être restauré et remis en état. Les entreprises font appel à des consultants en environnement qualifiés qui détermineront la présence ou non de toute contamination dans le sol ou dans l’eau souterraine et produiront un rapport détaillé sur la décontamination, le cas échéant, qui confirme que le site a été remis en état conformément aux exigences provinciales.

Gestion des puits orphelins

Les puits abandonnés, inactifs ou suspendus ont un propriétaire identifiable (le titulaire de permis), qui en assure la gestion financière jusqu’aux activités de fin de cycle de vie. Pour se protéger contre les titulaires de permis dont les entreprises font faillite et qui sont incapables d’assumer les coûts de fermeture et de remise en état, l’Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) prélève une taxe annuelle (la taxe sur les puits orphelins) auprès de tous les producteurs de pétrole et de gaz naturel en activité, et verse ces fonds à l’Orphan Well Association (OWA). Cette dernière est financée à 100% par l’industrie. L’OWA, au nom de l’industrie, procède à des tests afin de déterminer les travaux nécessaires pour que le puits soit fermé en toute sécurité, puis supervise l’exécution de ces travaux.


PARTAGER