Innovation

Innovation is key to improved environmental performance

Body Explore Topics Innovation Encana Capturing Vent Gas Credit Encana

Photo Courtesy of Encana

The techniques used to find and produce natural gas are built on many years of developing technology to get the resource out of the ground. However, industry is also committed to find innovative ways to reduce its impacts on the environment.  

Technology and innovation are not new to industry. For example, in recent years, combining advancements in hydraulic fracturing with multi-well drilling has not only unlocked natural gas resources that were previously uneconomical to develop, but has also allowed companies to drill multiple wells from a single location, reducing the overall surface footprint of drilling activities. 

Multi-well drilling reduces impact on the land

From a land use perspective, by using a horizontal multi-well drilling pad, several horizontal wells drilled from a multi-well can access a greater area of the reservoir from a smaller piece of land than vertical wells drilled from single well pads.

Reducing methane emissions

Industry is serious about meeting Canada’s commitment to reduce methane emissions from oil and natural gas operations by 45 per cent by 2025. And the use of technology is critical to find innovative ways to reduce methane emissions. 

An array of technologies and approaches are being developed and implemented that ensure industry’s methane emission reduction targets are met or exceeded in the most effective and efficient ways possible.

Industry’s use of solar panels to power pumps which eliminates the venting of emissions that result from traditional sources of power is an excellent example of an innovative way to reducing methane. Another approach is the installation of systems at natural gas facilities designed to capture vented gases, including methane. These gases can then be used as fuel, providing a supplemental power source for the facility.

Improved methane detection and monitoring is another key area for industry. Better detection methods will enable industry to detect and eliminate fugitive emissions (i.e., unintended emissions due to leaks and other causes). Improved detection will also help companies design and evaluate specific methane reduction initiatives, and allow industry as a whole to proactively monitor its progress toward achieving the 45 per cent methane emissions reduction goal.

Institutions such as Natural Resources Canada, Emissions Reduction Alberta and a number of universities are working together to develop a robust ground, aerial and satellite-based methane detection network. Industry has also partnered with the Petroleum Alliance of Canada (PTAC) on a variety of projects, including the use of truck-based sensors for area methane detection.

Companies such as Shell are leaders in innovative approaches to methane detection technology. Shell is piloting a project to test next-generation methane detection technologies. The pilot project, located at one of Shell’s shale gas sites near Rocky Mountain House in Alberta, will enable better early detection and repair of methane leaks, leading to reduced emissions.

Collaboration on research and innovation

Through various partnerships and programs, industry is working together to develop innovative solutions to improve environmental performance. The Alberta Upstream Petroleum Research Fund (AUPRF) was created to minimize the environmental impact of the industry through research and development, innovation, and collaboration. 

The B.C. Oil and Gas Research Innovation Society (OGRIS) is a not-for-profit society with membership from CAPP, Explorers and Producers Association of Canada and the BC Oil and Gas Commission and serves to enable relevant applied research to inform environmental matters related to oil and natural gas exploration and development in B.C.

SHARE

Innovation

L’innovation est essentielle à l’amélioration de la performance environnementale.

Source: Encana

Les méthodes de production du gaz naturel s’appuient sur des années d’élaboration de technologies destinées à extraire cette ressource du sol. L’industrie cherche par ailleurs des moyens novateurs de réduire ses impacts sur l’environnement.  

La technologie et l’innovation ne sont pas nouvelles pour les membres de l’industrie. Par exemple, ces dernières années, la combinaison des progrès en matière de fracturation hydraulique et de forage multipuits a permis non seulement de puiser dans des ressources qui étaient trop coûteuses à exploiter auparavant, mais aussi de forer plusieurs puits en un seul et même endroit, ce qui a réduit l’empreinte de surface globale des activités de forage.

Le forage multipuits réduit l’impact sur les terres

Du point de vue de l’utilisation des terres, le recours aux plateformes de forage horizontal multipuits permet de forer plusieurs puits horizontaux au même endroit, et d’accéder ainsi à une plus grande surface du réservoir à partir d’une plus petite parcelle que si l’on fore des puits verticaux à partir de plateformes individuelles.

Réduction des émissions de méthane

D’ici 2025, le Canada s’est engagé à réduire les émissions de méthane issues de l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz naturel de 45 pour cent et c’est important pour l’industrie de respecter cet objectif. Il est essentiel de se tourner vers la technologie afin de découvrir des façons novatrices de réduire les émissions de méthane.

Une panoplie de techniques et d’approches sont conçues et appliquées afin de garantir que les cibles de réduction des émissions de méthane de l’industrie sont atteintes ou surpassées le plus efficacement possible.

L’utilisation de panneaux solaires pour alimenter les pompes est un excellent exemple d’innovation permettant l’élimination des émissions découlant des sources d’énergie traditionnelles. L’installation de systèmes conçus pour capter les gaz libérés des installations gazières, dont le méthane, constitue une autre approche. Ces gaz peuvent ensuite être utilisés comme carburant et servir de source d’énergie complémentaire pour l’installation.

Une détection et une surveillance plus efficaces du méthane sont également cruciales pour l’industrie. De meilleures méthodes de détection permettront de déceler et d’éliminer les émissions fugitives, soit des émissions involontaires dues à des fuites ou à d’autres causes. Une détection accrue permettra également aux entreprise de concevoir et d’évaluer des initiatives visant spécifiquement la réduction du méthane. L’ensemble de l’industrie pourra donc, de façon proactive, suivre ses progrès vers l’atteinte de l’objectif de réduire les émissions de méthane de 45 pour cent.

Des organisations telles que Ressources Naturelles Canada, Emissions Reduction Alberta, de même que différentes universités collaborent dans le but de développer un solide réseau terrestre, aérien et satellitaire de détection du méthane. L’industrie s’est également associée à la Petroleum Alliance of Canada (PTAC) pour des projets variés, dont l’utilisation de capteurs fixés à des camions, pour la détection ciblée du méthane.

Des entreprises comme Shell sont des leaders en termes d’innovations technologiques visant la détection du méthane. Shell dirige un projet qui vise à tester la prochaine génération de techniques de détection du méthane. Le projet pilote, qui se déroule sur l’un de ses sites de gaz de schiste près de Rocky Mountain House en Alberta, facilitera la détection précoce et la réparation des fuites de méthane et par le fait même, la réduction des émissions. 

Collaboration en matière de recherche et d’innovation

Grâce à divers partenariats et programmes, les membres de l’industrie collaborent en vue d’élaborer des solutions novatrices visant à améliorer la performance environnementale. Ils ont créé l’Alberta Upstream Petroleum Research Fund pour minimiser l’impact de l’industrie sur l’environnement grâce à la recherche-développement, à l’innovation et à la collaboration.

L’Oil and Gas Research Innovation Society (OGRIS) de la Colombie-Britannique est une société à but non lucratif dont les membres sont l’ACPP, l’Explorers and Producers Association of Canada et la B.C. Oil and Gas Commission. Elle cherche à utiliser les résultats de la recherche appliquée pertinente pour examiner les enjeux environnementaux liés à la recherche et à l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz en Colombie-Britannique.


PARTAGER