Liquefied Natural Gas

An emerging LNG industry offers an opportunity to bring economic benefits to Canadians

Body Explore Topics Liquefied Natural Gas LNG Tanker

What is Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)?

Natural gas, when produced and used domestically, is shipped in its vapour form through a network of distribution pipelines to a local distribution company and then delivered to a customer.  

When natural gas is shipped to a distant foreign market outside of where it is produced, the natural gas needs to ‘shrink in size’ or be compressed in order to ship large volumes economically – this liquefies the natural gas. The ‘shrinking’ of natural gas reduces its size by a factor of about 600. The ‘shrinking’ is done through the LNG process.

As the majority of Canada’s natural gas resources are in B.C. and Alberta, the best place to establish new LNG processing and shipping facilities is on Canada’s West Coast, which is also close to potential new markets in Southeast Asia, India and China.

Economic benefits

Significant potential economic benefits from establishing a Canadian LNG industry and resulting natural gas development could be generated across Canada if natural gas projects are established in a timely manner with access to international markets.

A West Coast LNG industry, exporting about 30 million tonnes per year would grow Canada’s economy by an average of $7.4 billion per year over the next 30 years. This increased trade would generate substantial new government revenues, economic growth and jobs. (Source: Conference Board of Canada)

West Coast LNG infographic

Creating jobs in Canada's natural gas industry

Developing and exporting LNG from Canada would not only help meet growing global energy demand with cleaner-burning natural gas, but would also provide Canadian jobs. Upstream activities supporting one LNG plant in B.C. exporting two billion cubic feet per day (Bcf/d) would provide 20,000 direct, indirect and induced B.C. jobs. (Source: Conference Board of Canada)

The LNG opportunity for Canada's Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous communities will see a significant increase in economic benefits, skills training and environmental stewardship if proposed natural gas pipelines and LNG infrastructure projects proceed within their traditional territories.

In British Columbia, for example, nearly 90 per cent of the 32 First Nations with proposed pipelines through their traditional territories have indicated their support through one or more pipeline benefits agreements. (Source: Government of British Columbia)

The LNG process 

There are three primary phases involved in LNG:

Body Explore Topics Liquefied Natural Gas LNG Graphic

Phase 1 – Liquefaction

Liquefaction or shrinking begins after natural gas is transported via pipeline from the natural gas field to the liquefaction facility. Here impurities are removed leaving a product that is primarily methane with small amounts of nitrogen and other hydrocarbons. The natural gas is cooled to about -161°C when it becomes liquid. The liquid natural gas is stored in insulated tanks to keep it cold until it is ready to ship.

Phase 2 – Transportation/storage

At the liquefaction facility, the liquid natural gas runs through a pipeline where it is pumped into double-hulled LNG carriers designed for long marine hauls. These carriers are designed to keep the liquid natural gas cold and minimize evaporation. LNG carriers can hold up to 9.4 million cubic feet of LNG, which is equivalent to 5.6 billion cubic feet of natural gas in its natural gaseous state.  

Phase 3 – Re-gasification/storage

When the LNG carrier arrives at its destination, the LNG is offloaded and stored in insulated storage tanks to keep it cold. When needed, the LNG is warmed to convert it back to a gaseous state and is then delivered by pipeline to customers.

Key facts about LNG:

  • Natural gas is cooled to -161°C when the natural gas becomes liquid.
  • LNG is a clear, colourless, odourless, non-toxic liquid.
  • LNG reduces its volume by about 600 times from the gaseous state.
  • LNG carriers can hold up to 9.4 million cubic feet of LNG, which is equivalent to 5.6 billion cubic feet of natural gas in its natural state.
  • More than 135,000 LNG carrier voyages have taken place without major accidents, safety problems, or security issues either in port or at sea. (Source: Centre for Liquefied Natural Gas)
  • Asian markets are an eight-day to 11-day sail from proposed LNG facilities on Canada’s West Coast.

Shipping LNG safely

LNG shipping has a proven safety record. The world’s first LNG tanker shipped LNG safely from Louisiana to the United Kingdom in 1959. Through 50-plus years of marine shipping experience, more than 135,000 LNG carrier voyages have taken place around the world without major accidents, safety problems, or security issues, either in port or at sea. (Source: Center for Liquefied Natural Gas

LNG carriers are designed to have a high degree of safety. This is accomplished by:

  • Using double hulled vessels.
  • Separating LNG cargo tanks from the hull structure using thick insulation.
  • Installing closed cargo systems for loading or discharging, to prevent the venting of vapours.
  • Temperature and pressure monitoring.
  • Gas detection and cargo tank liquid level indicators.

LNG Tanker

Success Story – Using LNG at home

In 2017, BC Ferries introduced three new Salish Class vessels to its fleet: The Salish Orca, Salish Eagle and Salish Raven. These vessels are capable of running on LNG as a fuel source. BC Ferries says the conversion to LNG saves money and reduces CO2 emissions by 12,000 tonnes annually, which is the equivalent of taking 2,500 vehicles off the road per year. The ships service the Tsawwassen – Swartz Bay run, the busiest route in the fleet.

SHARE

Related

LNG and Economic Benefits

An emerging LNG industry in Canada offers an opportunity ti bring economic benefits to Canadians

Gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL)

L’émergence de l’industrie du GNL offre la possibilité de générer des avantages économiques pour les Canadiens.


Qu’est-ce que le GNL?

Lorsqu’il est produit en vue d’un usage domestique, le gaz naturel est acheminé sous forme de vapeur par un réseau de gazoducs à un distributeur local, puis livré aux clients.  

Lorsqu’on expédie le gaz naturel vers des marchés étrangers éloignés de son lieu de production, il faut en réduire le volume, c’est-à-dire le comprimer pour pouvoir expédier de gros volumes à moindre coût – cette compression liquéfie le gaz. Elle permet d’en réduire le volume d’environ 600 fois et crée le GNL.

Puisque les ressources canadiennes en gaz naturel se trouvent majoritairement en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta, le meilleur endroit pour établir de nouvelles installations de traitement et d’expédition du GNL est la côte Ouest canadienne. Celle-ci est également près de nouveaux marchés potentiels en Asie du Sud-Est, en Inde et en Chine.

Retombées économiques

Le développement de l’industrie canadienne du GNL et, par le fait même, la mise en valeur du gaz naturel pourraient produire des retombées économiques significatives, partout au Canada, à condition que les projets de gaz naturel soient réalisés rapidement, avec un accès vers les marchés internationaux.

Une industrie du GNL sur la côte Ouest, qui exporterait environ 30 millions de tonnes annuellement, permettrait à l’économie canadienne de croître de 7,4 milliards de dollars en moyenne, chaque année, au cours des 30 prochaines années. Cet accroissement des échanges commerciaux créerait d’importants nouveaux revenus pour les gouvernements, une croissance économique ainsi que des emplois. (Source: Conference Board du Canada)

Création d’emploi dans l’industrie canadienne du gaz naturel

Le développement et l’exportation du GNL canadien permettraient non seulement de répondre à une demande énergétique mondiale croissante grâce à un combustible plus propre, mais ils créeraient également des emplois au Canada. Les activités en amont, liées à une seule installation de GNL en Colombie-Britannique qui exporterait deux milliards de pieds cubes de GNL par jour (Gpi3/j) créerait 20 000 emplois directs, indirects et induits dans cette province. (Source: Conference Board du Canada)

Une occasion pour les peuples autochtones du Canada

Si les projets de gazoducs et d’infrastructures de GNL voyaient le jour au sein de leurs territoires traditionnels, les communautés autochtones bénéficieraient d’importantes retombées économiques, de formation spécialisée et d’une gérance de l’environnement.

En Colombie-Britannique, par exemple, près de 90 pour cent des 32 Premières Nations dont le territoire traditionnel est touché par un projet de pipeline ont manifesté leur appui, par l’entremise d’une ou plusieurs ententes sur les retombées du pipeline (Source: Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique).

Le procédé

La création de GNL comporte trois phases :

Phase 1 – Liquéfaction

La liquéfaction ou la réduction du volume débute après le transport du gaz naturel, par gazoduc, du champ d’exploitation vers l’usine de liquéfaction. À ce stade, on y élimine les impuretés afin de créer un produit principalement composé de méthane et de petites quantités d’azote et d’autres hydrocarbures. Le gaz naturel atteint une température d’environ -161°C quand il devient liquide. Le GNL est stocké dans des citernes isolées; il reste ainsi froid jusqu’à ce qu’il soit prêt pour l’expédition.

Phase 2 Transport/stockage

Dans l’usine de liquéfaction, le GNL circule dans un gazoduc à l’aide duquel il est pompé dans des navires transporteurs de GNL à double coque, conçus pour les longs trajets en mer. Ces navires sont conçus pour conserver le GNL froid et minimiser l’évaporation. Ils peuvent contenir jusqu’à 9,4 millions de pieds cubes de GNL, ce qui équivaut à 5,6 milliards de pieds cubes de gaz naturel sous sa forme gazeuse.  

Phase 3 Regazéification/stockage

Quand le navire arrive à destination, le GNL est déchargé et entreposé dans des réservoirs isolés qui le gardent froid. Au besoin, on réchauffe le GNL pour le ramener à son état gazeux et l’acheminer aux clients par gazoduc.

Faits saillants à propos du GNL

  • Le gaz naturel atteint -161°C quand il se liquéfie.
  • Le GNL est un liquide transparent, incolore, inodore et non toxique.
  • Le GNL est 600 fois moins volumineux que le gaz naturel à l’état gazeux.
  • Les navires transporteurs de GNL peuvent contenir jusqu’à 9,4 millions de pieds cubes de GNL, ce qui équivaut à 5,6 milliards de pieds cubes de gaz naturel sous sa forme gazeuse.
  • Plus de 135 000 trajets ont été effectués par des navires transporteurs de GNL sans accident majeur ou problème de sûreté ou de sécurité, que ce soit dans les ports ou en mer. (Source : Centre for Liquefied Natural Gas).
  • Il faudrait entre 8 et 11 jours pour atteindre les marchés asiatiques, depuis les installations proposées sur la côte ouest du Canada.

Expédier le GNL de façon sécuritaire

La sécurité du transport de GNL est éprouvée.  En 1959, le tout premier navire-citerne de GNL (ou méthanier) au monde a transporté du GNL de façon sécuritaire de la Louisiane au Royaume-Uni. Avec plus de 50 ans d’expérience en transport maritime, au-delà de 135 000 trajets ont été effectués par des méthaniers, partout dans le monde, sans accident majeur ou problème de sûreté ou de sécurité, que ce soit dans les ports ou en mer. (Source : Centre for Liquefied Natural Gas)

Les méthaniers sont conçus pour être extrêmement sécuritaires, grâce aux caractéristiques suivantes:

  • Navires à double coque.
  • Les citernes de cargaison qui contiennent le GNL sont séparées de la structure de la coque à l’aide d’une épaisse couche d’isolation.
  • L’installation de systèmes de transport fermés, afin de prévenir l’évacuation de vapeurs lors du chargement et du déchargement.
  • Contrôle de la température et de la pression.
  • Système de détection des gaz et indicateurs de niveau de liquide dans les citernes de cargaison.

Histoire de réussite – Le GNL à usage résidentiel

En 2017, BC Ferries a introduit trois nouveaux navires de classe Salish dans sa flotte: le Salish Orca, le Salish Eagle et le Salish Raven. Ces navires utilisent le GNL comme carburant. Selon BC Ferries, ce passage au GNL fera économiser de l’argent à l’entreprise et réduira ses émissions de CO2 de 12 000 tonnes par an; cela équivaut à retirer chaque année 2 500 véhicules des routes. Les navires parcourent le trajet entre Tsawwassen et Swartz Bay, qui est le plus emprunté par la flotte.

PARTAGER