Market Access

Traditional markets for western Canadian natural gas are changing.

Body Explore Topics Keeping Everyone Safe Workers LNG

Canada's natural gas supply and export

With strong production and an abundant resource, Canada’s natural gas industry delivers affordable and reliable natural gas to Canadians across the country. Canada currently only exports natural gas to the United States. Although 2016 and 2017 saw an increase in natural gas exports to the U.S., there has been an overall steady decline in natural gas exports since 2007 as the U.S. has developed its domestic supply of natural gas. In fact, the United States is now a net exporter of natural gas for the first time in 59 years.

How much natural gas does Canada have?

Canada’s natural gas resource base is very large. Canada is currently the world’s 5th largest producer of natural gas. We have about 1,230 trillion cubic feet of natural gas resources, a 300-year supply based on current technology and consumption levels. This is more natural gas than Canadians need, and presents a great export opportunity, creating jobs and economic benefits for all of Canada.

Body Explore Topics NG Supply Demand Markets NG 300 Years high res

Changing Markets

Canada’s natural gas market has changed. Over the last decade, there has been a significant market shift for Canadian natural gas. While Canada is already a net exporter of natural gas, we export to only one customer: the United States. This lack of market diversity presents a significant challenge for Canadian natural gas producers, as our best customer has now become our biggest competitor. 

So how did this happen? Over the past 10 years, advances in horizontal drilling and multi-stage hydraulic fracturing have enabled the United States to increase its own natural gas production by more than 40 per cent (Source: EIA). In fact, the United States has been the world’s top natural gas producer since 2011 according to the U.S. Energy Information Administration. The result has been low prices in North America due to regional oversupply, and declining exports of Canadian natural gas, particularly into the eastern regions of the United States. In these areas, shorter transportation distances give American producers a significant cost advantage. And, the United States is increasing its own exports— including into Ontario and Quebec, displacing natural gas from Western Canada.

Market diversity through LNG

World demand for natural gas is expected to increase 45 per cent by 2040, driven primarily by the rapidly expanding Asian economies (IEA World Energy Outlook, 2017). Canada’s natural gas is uniquely positioned to meet growing energy demand. We can contribute to meeting their demand by developing a West Coast LNG industry. 

A West Coast LNG industry would be backed by Canada’s robust upstream natural gas industry. This industry has the technical know-how and a proven track record for producing large volumes of natural gas using hydraulic fracturing in a manner that is safe, cost-effective and environmentally responsible. Combined with our reputation as a reliable trading partner that observes rule of law, and that possesses world-leading environmental regulations, we are well positioned to become a trusted and preferred supplier of LNG to customers in Asia. 

However, when it comes to LNG exports, Canada has fallen behind the United States. The U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission has approved nine LNG export plant proposals, with the first cargoes already being shipped from the Sabine Pass LNG project located on the U.S. Gulf Coast. With more than ten additional projects at various stages of review, the U.S. is set to become a major exporter of natural gas (Source: Energy Information Agency – EIA). While it is certainly positive to see LNG export capacity developed in the U.S., as any natural gas leaving the continent helps Canadian producers move their own resources, the world market has become more competitive.

Canadian energy for Canadians

While shipments of western Canadian natural gas have been declining to eastern Canadian markets, the trend does not need to continue. Responsibly developed Canadian natural gas can continue to serve markets in eastern Canada using existing infrastructure. That’s why natural gas producers are exploring market opportunities with transmission pipelines to make western Canadian natural gas more competitive in those markets.

Experience shows that having multiple supply sources is a key component of a sound energy strategy. In fact, this will provide a reliable natural gas supply alternative, lower the risks associated with depending on a single source of supply and enhance energy security with pan-Canadian benefits.

Accès aux marchés

Les marchés traditionnels du gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien sont en train de changer.

Approvisionnement et exportation du gaz naturel canadien

Grâce à une production solide et à l’abondance de cette ressource, l’industrie gazière canadienne fournit du gaz naturel à tous les Canadiens, de façon fiable et abordable. À l’heure actuelle, le Canada n’exporte du gaz naturel qu’aux États-Unis. Bien qu’on ait connu une hausse des exportations vers les États-Unis en 2016 et 2017, on constate plutôt un déclin constant des exportations depuis 2007, puisque les États-Unis développent leur approvisionnement intérieur. En fait, les États-Unis sont maintenant un exportateur net de gaz naturel pour la première fois depuis 59 ans.

Quelle quantité de gaz naturel avons-nous au Canada?

Le bassin canadien de gaz naturel est extrêmement vaste. Le Canada est actuellement le 5e plus important producteur de gaz naturel au monde. Nous disposons de réserves de quelque 1 230 billions de pieds cubes de gaz naturel, ce qui représente 300 ans d’approvisionnement, en fonction de la technologie et des niveaux de consommation actuels. Puisque cela excède largement les besoins des Canadiens, nous sommes devant de grandes possibilités d’exportation, de création d’emploi et de retombées économiques pour tout le pays.


Évolution des marchés

Le marché canadien du gaz naturel a changé. Ce marché a subi un glissement significatif au cours de la dernière décennie. Bien que le Canada soit déjà un exportateur net de gaz naturel, le pays n’a qu’un seul client: les États-Unis. Ce manque de diversité présente un défi important pour les producteurs canadiens de gaz naturel, étant donné que notre meilleur client est maintenant devenu notre plus grand concurrent.

Comment en sommes-nous arrivés là? Au cours des 10 dernières années, les progrès en matière de forage horizontal et de fracturation hydraulique en plusieurs étapes ont permis aux États-Unis d’accroître leur propre production de gaz naturel de plus de 40 pour cent (Source: Agence américaine d'information sur l’énergie - EIA). Les État-Unis sont même devenus, depuis 2011, le plus grand producteur de gaz naturel au monde, selon la EIA. Cela a entraîné une baisse des prix en Amérique du Nord, en raison d’une offre régionale excédentaire, de même qu’une diminution des exportations de gaz naturel canadien, particulièrement vers l’Est américain. Pour ces régions, les distances réduites de transport confèrent aux producteurs américains un avantage sur le plan des coûts. De plus, les États-Unis ont accru leurs propres exportations, notamment vers l’Ontario et le Québec, supplantant ainsi le gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien.

Diversifier le marché grâce au GNL

On prévoit que la demande mondiale en gaz naturel augmentera de 45 pour cent d’ici 2040, poussée principalement par l’expansion rapide des économies asiatiques (IEA World Energy Outlook, 2017). Le gaz naturel canadien jouit d’une position unique afin de répondre à cette demande croissante en énergie. Nous pouvons contribuer à satisfaire à cette demande en développant l’industrie du GNL, sur la côte ouest.

Cette industrie du GNL serait appuyée par la solide industrie canadienne du gaz naturel en amont. Celle-ci possède le savoir-faire technique et a fait ses preuves en termes de production de grandes quantité de gaz naturel à l’aide de la fracturation hydraulique. Le tout de façon sécuritaire, rentable et respectueuse de l’environnement. Si l’on ajoute la réputation du Canada comme étant un partenaire commercial fiable qui respecte la primauté du droit et dont la réglementation environnementale est parmi les meilleures au monde, nous sommes bien placés pour devenir le fournisseur de GNL de choix des clients asiatiques.

Toutefois, le Canada a glissé derrière les États-Unis quant aux exportations de GNL. La Federal Energy Regulatory Commission américaine a approuvé neuf projets d’unités d’exportation de GNL et les premières cargaisons ont déjà expédiées depuis le projet Sabine Pass situé sur la côte américaine du Golfe. Avec plus de dix projets supplémentaires, à différentes étapes de leur processus d’examen, les États-Unis sont en voie de devenir un important exportateur de gaz naturel (Source: EIA). Bien que le développement des exportations américaines de GNL soit certainement positif - tout gaz naturel qui quitte le continent aide les producteurs canadiens à écouler leurs propres ressources - le marché mondial est devenu plus compétitif.

Une énergie canadienne pour les Canadiens

Bien que les expéditions de gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien vers les marchés de l’est du pays soient en baisse, on peut mettre fin à cette tendance. Un gaz naturel canadien exploité de façon responsable peut continuer d’alimenter ces marchés, en utilisant l’infrastructure existante. C’est pourquoi les producteurs de gaz naturel sont en train d’étudier les possibilités d’exploitation de nouveaux marchés grâce aux gazoducs, afin de faire du gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien un produit plus concurrentiel sur ces marchés.

L’expérience a montré que de multiples sources d’approvisionnement constituent un volet clé d’une bonne stratégie énergétique. En fait, cela fournira une autre source fiable d’approvisionnement en gaz naturel, réduira les risques que crée la dépendance vis-à-vis d’une seule source et renforcera la sécurité énergétique, générant des retombées à l’échelle du pays.


PARTAGER