Natural Gas Potential

Canada's Resource

The safe and responsible development of natural gas benefits the environment and the economy. Given current domestic consumption, Canada has more than enough natural gas for at least 300 years. With advances in recovery technology, potential supplies of natural gas have grown dramatically. (Source: Statistics Canada, 2015)

Canada is the world's fifth-largest producer of natural gas

At current consumption levels Canada's resource can provide                           natural gas to consumers for the

Body Explore Topics NG Supply Demand Markets NG 300 Years high res

SOURCE: ARC Financial and CAPP

Appliances, vehicles and power plants using natural gas are highly efficient. This high efficiency makes it a cleaner energy option than other fossil fuels. In fact, natural gas emits 50 per cent fewer greenhouse gases than coal when used for electrical generation.

According to the International Energy Agency (IEA) forecast global demand for energy is expected to increase 30 per cent by 2040 as economies in both developed and emerging countries continue to grow and standards of living improve. Natural gas will be an important part of that growth and is expected to increase 45 per cent by 2040. The IEA 2017 Energy World Outlook article in Context outlines other key findings of the forecast.

Canada's natural gas is widely available and affordable

CNG is Widely Available and Affordable

Source: ARC Energy and CAPP, 2016

SHARE

Une ressource canadienne

Le Canada est le cinquième producteur mondial de gaz naturel en volume.

L’exploitation sûre et responsable du gaz naturel procure des avantages tant environnementaux qu’économiques. Au rythme de consommation actuel, le Canada pourra fournir du gaz naturel pendant plus de 300 ans. Grâce aux progrès technologiques appliqués à l’exploitation, la quantité de gaz naturel potentiellement disponible a considérablement augmenté. (Source: Statistique Canada, 2015)

Les électroménagers, les véhicules et les centrales électriques fonctionnant au gaz naturel sont très efficients. Cela fait du gaz un choix énergétique plus propre que les autres combustibles fossiles. En fait, le gaz naturel émet 50 % moins de gaz à effet de serre que le charbon pour la production d’électricité. 

L’Agence internationale de l’énergie (AIE) prévoit que la demande mondiale d’énergie va augmenter de 30% d’ici 2040, car les économies des pays développés et les économies émergentes poursuivent leur croissance, et le niveau de vie des populations augmente. Le gaz naturel va constituer un élément important de cette croissance et sa consommation devrait augmenter de 45% d’ici 2040.